Owl Song at Dawn

Owl Song at Dawn

4 (248 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

As featured on Radio 4's Woman's Hour
Shortlisted for the Amazon Rising Star Award
Longlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker prize 2016
Stylist Magazine Top Books to Read on a Staycation
Hive Rising Writer for 2016



A powerful and touching debut inspired by the author's autistic sister, perfect for fans of Karen Joy Fowler, Nathan Filer and Maggie O'Farrell.

Maeve Maloney is a force to be reckoned with. Despite nearing eighty, she keeps Sea View Lodge just as her parents did during Morecambe's 1950s heyday. But now only her employees and regular guests recognise the tenderness and heartbreak hidden beneath her spikiness.

Until, that is, Vincent shows up. Vincent is the last person Maeve wants to see. He is the only man alive to have known her twin sister, Edie. The nightingale to Maeve's crow, the dawn to Maeve's dusk, Edie would have set her sights on the stage all things being equal. But, from birth, things never were.

If only Maeve could confront the secret past she shares with Vincent, she might finally see what it means to love and be loved a lesson that her exuberant yet inexplicable twin may have been trying to teach her all along.

'[A] quirky, moving novel' The Daily Mail

'Fresh, poignant and unlike anything else' Jill Dawson, Whitbread and Orange Prize-shortlisted author

'Tender and unflinching, a beautifully observed novel' Carys Bray, Costa Prize-shortlisted author

'It crept under my skin and will stay there for a long time' Emma Henderson, Orange Prize-shortlisted author

'Amazing: fierce, intelligent, compassionate and deeply moving' Edward Hogan, Desmond Elliot Prize-winning author

'Funny, heartbreaking and truly remarkable' Susan Barker, New York Times bestselling author

'Should go straight onto bestseller and prize-winning lists.' Byte the Book

'Gripping.' London Grip

'Beautifully written.' Little Bookness Lane

'A heartfelt story about love and acceptance' Open Letters Monthly

'An outstanding novel.' Linda's Book Bag

'A truly touching story about family, loss, guilt, friendship and forgiveness.' A View from the Balcony

'Original and thought-provoking.' One More Page

'Poignant and rich' Litro

'an ultimately uplifting and positive book with life lessons for us all' Mad House Family Reviews

'Emma Claire Sweeney however has put such a lovely book together that combines grief, loss, love and laughter. I can highly recommend it!' Butterflyinthesky

'Beautifully written and uplifting.' Her Nose Stuck in a Book
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 27.94mm | 280g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1785079670
  • 9781785079672
  • 1,263,169

Review quote

'I found the novel most poignant and tender in its depiction of disability, without a whiff of sentimentality... it crept under my skin and will stay there for a long time.'--Emma Henderson (Orange Prize-shortlisted author of 'Grace Williams Says it Loud')
show more

About Emma Claire Sweeney

Emma Claire Sweeney has won Arts Council, Royal Literary Fund, and Escalator Awards. She teaches at New York University-London, co-runs SomethingRhymed.com, and publishes features and pieces on disability for the Guardian, Independent on Sunday, and Times.
show more

Rating details

248 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 35% (86)
4 39% (96)
3 19% (46)
2 8% (20)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X