Out of the Blue
26%
off

Out of the Blue

3.74 (771 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Sophie Cameron's Out of the Blue is a story of love and acceptance and finding your place in this world, as angels drop out of another.

When angels start falling from the sky, it seems like the world is ending. But for Jaya the world ended when her mother died, two weeks before the first angel fell.

Smashing down to earth at extraordinary speeds, wings bent, faces contorted, not a single angel has survived and, as the world goes angel crazy, Jaya's father uproots the family to Edinburgh, intent on catching one alive. But Jaya can't stand his obsession and, struggling to make sense of her mother's sudden death and her own role on that fateful day, she's determined to stay out of it. Then something extraordinary happens: an angel lands right at Jaya's feet, and it's alive . . .

Set against the backdrop of the frenzied Edinburgh festival, Out of the Blue tackles questions of grief and guilt and fear over who we really are.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 17mm | 210g
  • MACMILLAN CHILDREN'S BOOKS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1509853162
  • 9781509853168
  • 137,941

Review quote

a charming debut, radiant with humanity and heart * LoveReading * A magical tale * iNews * a unique, charming novel by a powerful writer who moves easily between abrasive teenage wit and unsentimental, lyrical insights into grief. * BookTrust * A strong infusion of magic and wonder * Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review * Ideal for fans of Laini Taylor * Buzzfeed *
show more

About Sophie Cameron

Sophie Cameron was born in the Scottish Highlands and has lived in Canada, France, Spain and Germany. She has a postgraduate certificate in Creative Writing from Newcastle University and has been shortlisted for the Bath Children's Novel Award. Her first novel, Out of the Blue, was featured in SCBWI's Undiscovered Voices 2016.
show more

Rating details

771 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 23% (176)
4 38% (295)
3 31% (241)
2 6% (48)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X