Out of the Ice
5%
off

Out of the Ice

3.59 (626 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

***FROM THE ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF THE LOST SWIMMER, now in development as a film***
'A taut and tightly wound page-turner' Marie Claire

When environmental scientist Laura Alvarado is sent to a remote Antarctic island to report on an abandoned whaling station, she begins to uncover more than she could ever imagine.

On a diving expedition, Laura emerges into an ice cave where she is shocked to see an anguished figure, crying for help. But in this freezing, lonely landscape there are ghosts everywhere, and Laura wonders if her own eyes can be trusted. Has she been in the ice too long?

Piecing together a past and present of cruelty and vulnerability that can be traced around the world, from Norway, to Nantucket, Europe and Antarctica, Laura will stop at nothing to unearth the truth. As she comes face to face with the dark side of human progress, she also discovers a legacy of love, hope and the meaning of family. If only Laura can now find her way out of the ice ...

Out of the Ice delivers compelling psychological drama for fans of Ruth Ware and Rosamund Lupton.

Praise for The Lost Swimmer, now being developed as a film:
`Ann Turner has produced a vivid, suspenseful thriller that should appeal to those with a taste for armchair travel' Sydney Morning Herald
`We had pins and needles trying to unravel the truth throughout Turner's crisply written, cleverly plotted tale of deceit' iBooks Editor
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 23mm | 276g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Paperback Original
  • 1471155455
  • 9781471155451
  • 56,062

Review Text

'A taut and tightly wound page-turner' Marie Claire
show more

Review quote

`We had pins and needles trying to unravel the truth throughout Turner's crisply written, cleverly plotted tale of deceit' -- iBooks Editor `Ann Turner has produced a vivid, suspenseful thriller that should appeal to those with a taste for armchair travel' * Sydney Morning Herald * 'A taut and tightly wound page-turner' * Marie Claire *
show more

About Ann Turner

Ann Turner is an award-winning screenwriter and director, avid reader, and history lover. She is drawn to salt-sprayed coasts, luminous landscapes, and the people who inhabit them all over the world. She is a passion-ate gardener. Her films include the historical feature Celia, starring Rebecca Smart-which Time Out listed as one of the fifty greatest direc-torial debuts of all time; Hammers Over the Anvil, starring Russell Crowe and Charlotte Rampling; and the psychological thriller Irresistible starring Susan Sarandon, Sam Neill, and Emily Blunt. Ann has lectured in film at the Victorian College of the Arts. Returning to her first love, the written word, in her debut novel The Lost Swimmer, Ann explores themes of love, trust, and the dark side of relationships. Her second novel, Out of the Ice, a mystery thriller set in Antarctica, was published to great acclaim in Australia and will be available in the United States in 2018. Ann was born in Adelaide and lives in Victoria. Visit Ann's website at AnnTurnerAuthor.com.
show more

Rating details

626 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 20% (123)
4 38% (237)
3 27% (171)
2 12% (78)
1 3% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X