Our Lady of the Streets

Our Lady of the Streets : The Skyscraper Throne Book 3

4.12 (188 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$19.56

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'I couldn't have asked for a more satisfying finale' Tor.com

In this thrilling conclusion to the Skyscraper Throne trilogy, Beth will come face-to-face with the goddess of the streets . . . Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.

Ever since Beth and Pen found their way into the hidden corners of London, the presence of its ruthless goddess, Mater Viae, has haunted its twisting streets. Now Mater Viae has returned with deadly consequences.

The streets are wracked by convulsions as wires and pipe go into spasm, bunching the city into a crippled new geography; pavements flare to thousand-degree fevers, incinerating pedestrians; and towers fall, their foundations decayed. It seems there is nothing Beth and Pen can do to stop this insane goddess.

As the city sickens, so does Beth - her essence now part of this secret London. But when it is revealed that Mater Viae's plans for dominion stretch far beyond the borders of the city, Beth must make a choice: flee, or sacrifice her city in order to save it.

Our Lady of the Street is the third book and thrilling conclusion in The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 448 pages
  • 147 x 219 x 38mm | 584g
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1780870140
  • 9781780870144
  • 767,129

Review quote

Once you pick up one of his books, prepare to be hooked. You won't be able to put them down. Recommended for every urban fantasy fan. The Skyscraper's Throne is a one-of-a-kind series, it's brilliant! * The Book Plank * The Skyscraper Throne is one of the best Urban Fantasy series that's out there, with a fascinating take on London and strong characters that will make you fall in love with the story right away * Drauma Kopr * It's just all amazing . . . Tom Pollock has done himself proud with this finale, and with this trilogy as a whole . . . literally unputdownable, and is going to be a very hard act to follow. 5/5 * Over the Effing Rainbow * If you can, read them one after another. The result is an emotionally charged and powerful roller coaster that will both exhaust and delight you in equal measure. Our Lady of the Streets is a fine ending to a very fine series, and we can't wait to see what Tom Pollock produces next. 9 out of 10 * Starburst * The entire Skyscraper Throne Trilogy [is] a series of books which has just about redefined the way Urban Fantasy should be written and which stands head and shoulders above, along [with] the other great works such as Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere * Upcoming4me * Hugely inventive in his world-building . . . following in the tradition of authors like Neil Gaiman and China Mieville * SFX * Gorgeously written and brimming with bizarre urban creatures, this darkly imagined and sometimes painful tale should delight fans of Neil Gaiman, China Mieville, and Holly Black * Publishers Weekly, Starred Review * A impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling * Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts * One of the finest rogue's galleries in all urban fantasy . . . With Our Lady of the Streets, [Tom] goes three for three. I couldn't have asked for a more satisfying finale * Tor.com * Our Lady of the Streets uses fantasy conceits and a tireless capacity for invention to map the dazzle, diversity and menace of London * Guardian *
show more

About Tom Pollock

Tom Pollock is a graduate of the Sussex University Creative Writing Programme, and a member of the London-based writers' group The T-Party. He has lived everywhere from Scotland to Sumatra, but the peculiar magic of London has always drawn him back.
show more

Rating details

188 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 39% (73)
4 43% (80)
3 12% (23)
2 5% (10)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X