Other Words for Smoke
8%
off

Other Words for Smoke

3.87 (959 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Twins Mae and Rossa's summer away from home becomes life altering when they discover a house full of witches, experience devastating first love, and face a dark power beyond any imagining.

Sarah Maria Griffin's haunting and literary sophomore novel explores the balance between love and fear, weakness and power, and the lengths one will go to claim one's freedom. For fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Maggie Stiefvater's All the Crooked Saints.

When the women from the house at the end of the lane went missing, none of the townspeople knew what happened. A tragedy, they called it. Only twins Mae and Rossa know the truth about that fateful summer.

Only they know about the owl in the wall, the uncanny cat, the insidious creatures that devour love and fear. Only they know the trials of loving someone who longs for power, for freedom, for magic. Only they know what brought everything tumbling down around them. And they'll never, ever breathe a word.

With an unusual structure spanning five summers, intriguing characters, and a dark mystery, this uncommon novel will appeal to readers of Rin Chupeco's The Bone Witch and Madeleine Roux's House of Furies.----Matt Killeen, bestselling author of Orphan Monster Spy
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 137 x 211 x 36mm | 363g
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0062408917
  • 9780062408914
  • 750,301

Review quote

"Making use of horror tropes. . .Griffin combines the distasteful aspects and ordinary grubbiness of the human condition. . .with shadowy, unsettling hungers, mystical protective rituals, and unseen threats."--The Horn Book
show more

Rating details

959 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 33% (315)
4 34% (329)
3 23% (224)
2 6% (62)
1 3% (29)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X