The Other Side of the Sky
10%
off

The Other Side of the Sky

4.31 (22 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner prove they are two living goddesses of writing, creating two compelling worlds with high stakes and gripping emotions. --Sarah Rees Brennan, New York Times bestselling author of the Demon's Lexicon trilogy and the Lynburn Legacy series

New York Times bestselling author duo Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have crafted a gripping tale of magic and logic, fate and choice, and a deadly love. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Brandon Sanderson.



Prince North's home is in the sky, in a gleaming city held aloft by intricate engines, powered by technology. Nimh is the living goddess of her people on the Surface, responsible for providing answers, direction--hope.



North's and Nimh's lives are entwined--though their hearts can never be. Linked by a terrifying prophecy and caught between duty and fate, they must choose between saving their people or succumbing to the bond that is forbidden between them.

--Publishers Weekly
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 480 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 37mm | 646g
  • English
  • 0062893335
  • 9780062893338
  • 860,775

Review Text

"Strange visions and apparitions give the story a chilling edge, and a late revelation elevates these developments into entirely new territory. In a collaboration that, at times, evokes Lost, Titanic, and Romancing the Stone, Spooner (Skylark) and newcomer Kaufman do an excellent job of keeping their story from falling into clichéd romantic territory ... the external conflicts and underlying mysteries will keep readers guessing (and turning the pages)." Publishers Weekly
show more

Review quote

"These Broken Stars is at its heart a love story. Voiced in alternate chapters, Lilac and Tarver are characters of depth, complexity, and strength, young people who alternately elicit the reader's admiration, frustration, and sympathy. While the book is the first of a promised trilogy, it stands on its own as a testament to love, loyalty, courage, and the power of good over dystopian greed and perversity."--ALA Booklist (starred review)
show more

About Amie Kaufman

Kaufman, Amie
Amie Kaufman is a New York Times and internationally bestselling author of young adult fiction, including the Elementals series, Unearthed, and the Starbound trilogy, coauthored with Meagan Spooner; and the Illuminae Files trilogy, coauthored with Jay Kristoff. Her multi-award-winning work has been described as "a game-changer" (Shelf Awareness) and "out-of-this-world awesome" (Kirkus Reviews). Raised in Australia and Ireland, Amie has degrees in history, literature, law, and conflict resolution. She took howling lessons from a wolf expert while preparing to write this book. She lives in Melbourne, Australia, with her husband, their rescue dog, and an extremely large personal library. Read more at www.amiekaufman.com.

Spooner, Meagan

New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner grew up reading and writing every spare moment of the day while dreaming about life as an archaeologist, a marine biologist, or an astronaut. She graduated from Hamilton College in New York State with a degree in playwriting. She's traveled all over the world, to places such as Egypt, Australia, South Africa, the Arctic, Greece, Antarctica, and the Galápagos Islands, and there's a bit of every trip in every story she writes. She currently lives and writes in Asheville, North Carolina, but the siren call of travel is hard to resist, and there's no telling how long she'll stay there. She's the coauthor of the award-winning Starbound Trilogy (These Broken Stars, This Shattered World, Their Fractured Light) and the Skylark Trilogy (Skylark, Shadowlark, Lark Ascending) as well as this "Beauty and the Beast" retelling. In her spare time she plays guitar, plays video games, plays with her cat, and reads. www.meaganspooner.com
show more

Rating details

22 ratings
4.31 out of 5 stars
5 50% (11)
4 32% (7)
3 18% (4)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X