The Other Half Lives
13%
off

The Other Half Lives

3.57 (3,878 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The fourth psychological suspense novel from the phenomenal word-of-mouth bestselling Sophie Hannah. A must-read for readers of Gillian Flynn and Liane Moriarty. 'Utterly gripping' The Times 'Thrilling' Sunday Telegraph Why would anyone confess to a murder that never happened? Ruth Bussey knows what it means to be in the wrong and to be wronged. She once did something she regrets, and her punishment nearly destroyed her. Now Ruth is rebuilding her life, and has found a love she doesn't believe she deserves: Aidan Seed. Aidan is also troubled by a past he hates to talk about, until one day he decides he must confide in Ruth. He tells her that years ago he killed someone: a woman called Mary Trelease. Ruth is confused. She's certain she's heard the name before, and when she realises why it sounds familiar, her fear and confusion deepen - because the Mary Trelease that Ruth knows is very much alive ...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 576 pages
  • 130 x 194 x 40mm | 458.13g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0340933151
  • 9780340933152
  • 58,137

About Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer. Her crime novels have been translated into 34 languages and published in 51 countries. Her psychological thrillerThe Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year in 2013. In 2014 and 2016, Sophie published The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket, the first new Hercule Poirot mysteries since Agatha Christie's death, both of which were national and international bestsellers. Sophie's novels The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also a bestselling poet who has been shortlisted for the TS Eliot award. Her poetry is studied at GCSE and A-level throughout the UK. Sophie is an Honorary Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband, two children and dog.show more

Review quote

A masterclass in plotting, with twist after twist Sunday Times This utterly gripping thriller should establish her as one of the great unmissables of this genre. The Times Beautifully written and precision-engineered to unsettle Guardian A truly gripping thriller Psychologies Sophie Hannah is the new British queen of the psychological thriller Heat 'This utterly gripping thriller should establish her as one of the great unmissables of this genre - intelligent, classy and with a wonderfully Gothic imagination' The Times on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'Sophie Hannah is very very good at setting things up and moving on - a chunky book you'll get through in no time' Evening Standard 'A masterclass in plotting that adds twist after twist in a hectic finale' Sunday Times on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'Beautifully written and precision-engineered to unsettle' Guardian on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'The interest of any crime or thriller fan will be piqued by Hannah's early chapters, but even the most Machiavellian-minded will be confounded by the serpentine twists of her audacious plotting.' Independent on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'Hannah brings us spectacularly sinister characters and throws them into some wincingly creepy dilemmas' Independent on Sunday, Books of the Year 'This book is long but never tedious, and, as with the finest examples of the genre, Hannah refuses to allow the reader any hope of predicting how it will all end until she decides to put the final piece of the jigsaw in place' Daily Express on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'It's a difficult tightrope to walk but Hannah does it triumphantly, maintaining the tension until the very end' Val McDermid, The Times 'Beautifully written and absorbingly chilling, this is a tale that steadily builds in tension, throwing up twists and turns that keep you guessing right up until the very end' SHE on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'An intricate and sinister suspense novel' Woman & Home on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'Sophie Hannah is the new British queen of the psychological thriller' Heat 'Sophie Hannah has become the master, or mistress, of suspense. This one's even better than her others. Each moment is so purely enjoyable. Her genius is that she creates these very real characters - absolutely incredible. She's at the very peak of crime fiction at the moment.' Boyd Hilton, Simon Mayo, BBC Radio 5 Live 'Sophie Hannah has done this before and is doing it again brilliantly. You have to keep turning the pages. As twisted as fairy lights in the loft after Christmas. Very clever, very cunning.' Joel Morris, Simon Mayo, BBC Radio 5 Live 'A truly gripping thriller' Psychologies on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'A complex, unnerving study of relationships ... Her exemplary skills put Hannah right up there with Ruth Rendell.' Kirkus Reviews on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'This is a monster book in every sense. It is both a chunky psychological thriller and a testamony to the legacy of depravity ... The trademark neuroses that afflict many of Sophie Hannah's characters lead to multiple twists in the plot, while her brilliantly acerbic dialogue lightens this clever but complicated tale' Charlotte Norman, Waterstone's Books Quarterly on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'The pages keep turning ... The firm grip of suspense will hold you fast until the thrilling ending.' Sunday Telegraph, Australia A terrific page-turner, one of those really creepy suspense novels with so many twists that it is impossible to guess the ending. Bookseller on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'A real chiller; the clever plot will keep you hooked and guessing to the end' Choice on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'Genuinely unsettling ... Fabulous stuff ' shotsmag.co.uk on THE OTHER HALF LIVES 'Hannah, like Rendell and Fremlin before her, takes ordinary domestic setting and turns them into something extraordinary ... THE OTHER HALF LIVES proves that she is an established force to be reckoned with ... a marvellous piece of literary conjuring' Crime Squad magazine 'Sophie Hannah brings many gifts to crime fiction. She is a poet whose use of language is precise, and her images are evocative. As a novelist, her overriding interests lie in people on the edge and in the relationships that have driven them there.' Times Literary Supplement 'Sophie Hannah is very, very good at setting things up and moving on - a chunky book you'll get through in no time' Evening Standard on THE OTHER HALF LIVESshow more

Rating details

3,878 ratings
3.57 out of 5 stars
5 17% (674)
4 38% (1,484)
3 32% (1,230)
2 10% (370)
1 3% (120)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X