The Other Half Lives

The Other Half Lives : Culver Valley Crime Book 4

3.58 (4,155 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


The fourth psychological suspense novel from the phenomenal word-of-mouth bestselling Sophie Hannah. A must-read for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins. 'Utterly gripping' The Times'Thrilling' Sunday TelegraphWhy would anyone confess to a murder that never happened?Ruth Bussey knows what it means to be in the wrong and to be wronged. She once did something she regrets, and her punishment nearly destroyed her. Now Ruth is rebuilding her life, and has found a love she doesn't believe she deserves: Aidan Seed. Aidan is also troubled by a past he hates to talk about, until one day he decides he must confide in Ruth. He tells her that years ago he killed someone: a woman called Mary Trelease.Ruth is confused. She's certain she's heard the name before, and when she realises why it sounds familiar, her fear and confusion deepen - because the Mary Trelease that Ruth knows is very much alive . . .
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 576 pages
  • 130 x 194 x 40mm | 458.13g
  • Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • none
  • 0340933151
  • 9780340933152
  • 60,344

Review quote

A real chiller; the clever plot will keep you hooked and guessing to the end * Choice * The pages keep turning . . . The firm grip of suspense will hold you fast until the thrilling ending * Sunday Telegraph * This is a monster book in every sense. It is both a chunky psychological thriller and a testamony to the legacy of depravity . . . The trademark neuroses that afflict many of Sophie Hannah's characters lead to multiple twists in the plot, while her brilliantly acerbic dialogue lightens this clever but complicated tale * Waterstones' Books Quarterly * A complex, unnerving study of relationships . . . Her exemplary skills put Hannah right up there with Ruth Rendell * Kirkus Reviews * An intricate and sinister suspense novel * Woman & Home * Beautifully written and absorbingly chilling, this is a tale that steadily builds in tension, throwing up twists and turns that keep you guessing right up until the very end * SHE * It's a difficult tightrope to walk but Hannah does it triumphantly, maintaining the tension until the very end -- Val McDermid * The Times * This book is long but never tedious, and, as with the finest examples of the genre, Hannah refuses to allow the reader any hope of predicting how it will all end until she decides to put the final piece of the jigsaw in place * Daily Express * Sophie Hannah has become the master, or mistress, of suspense. This one's even better than her others. Each moment is so purely enjoyable. Her genius is that she creates these very real characters - absolutely incredible. She's at the very peak of crime fiction at the moment * Simon Mayo Book Programme, Radio Five * Sophie Hannah is the new British queen of the psychological thriller * Heat * Beautifully written and precision-engineered to unsettle * Guardian * This utterly gripping thriller should establish her as one of the great unmissables of this genre * The Times * A masterclass in plotting, with twist after twist * Sunday Times *
show more

About Sophie Hannah

Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer. Her crime novels have been translated into 34 languages and published in 51 countries. Her psychological thriller The Carrier won the Specsavers National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year in 2013. In 2014 and 2016, Sophie published The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket, the first new Hercule Poirot mysteries since Agatha Christie's death, both of which were national and international bestsellers. Sophie's novels The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives have been adapted for television as Case Sensitive, starring Olivia Williams and Darren Boyd. Sophie is also a bestselling poet who has been shortlisted for the TS Eliot award. Her poetry is studied at GCSE and A-level throughout the UK. Sophie is an Honorary Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. She lives in Cambridge with her husband, two children and dog.
show more

Rating details

4,155 ratings
3.58 out of 5 stars
5 18% (731)
4 38% (1,593)
3 32% (1,312)
2 9% (393)
1 3% (126)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X