The Order War

The Order War

3.94 (7,077 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


"An intriguing fantasy in a fascinating world." --Robert Jordan, New York Times bestselling author of The Wheel of Time(R) series

Two hundred years before The Magic of Recluce, in a perfect entry-point for new readers of the series, the deadly White Wizards of Fairhaven, wielding the forces of chaos, threaten the ancient matriarchy of Sarronnyn, the last bastion of order in Candar. Their ruler appeals to the Black Wizards of Recluce, masters of order, for help.

Despite their success in destroying more than half the White armies, Sarronnyn falls. Justen, a young Black Engineer, must escape the city and fight the highest powers of order and master forbidden technology to harness chaos itself in his efforts to halt the conquest of the White Wizards.

L.E. Modesitt, Jr.'s bestselling fantasy novels set in the magical world of Recluce are among the most popular in contemporary fantasy. Each novel tells an independent story that nevertheless reverberates though all the other books in the series, to deepen and enhance the reading experience. Rich in detail, the Recluce books are a feast of wondrous marvels.

Saga of Recluce

#1 The Magic of Recluce / #2 The Towers of Sunset / #3 The Magic Engineer / #4 The Order War / #5 The Death of Chaos / #6 Fall of Angels / #7 The Chaos Balance / #8 The White Order / #9 Colors of Chaos / #10 Magi'i of Cyador / #11 Scion of Cyador / #12 Wellspring of Chaos / #13 Ordermaster / #14 Natural Order Mage / #15 Mage-Guard of Hamor / #16 Arms-Commander / #17 Cyador's Heirs / #18 Heritage of Cyador /#19 The Mongrel Mage (forthcoming)

Story Collection: Recluce Tales

Other Series by L.E. Modesitt, Jr.
The Imager Portfolio
The Corean Chronicles
The Spellsong Cycle
The Ghost Books
The Ecolitan Matter
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 608 pages
  • 104 x 172 x 35.56mm | 281.23g
  • Tor Fantasy
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0765399385
  • 9780765399380
  • 87,906

About L. E. Modesitt

L. E. Modesitt, Jr., is the bestselling author of the fantasy series The Saga of Recluce, Corean Chronicles, and the Imager Portfolio. His science fiction includes Adiamante, the Ecolitan novels, the Forever Hero Trilogy, and Archform: Beauty. Besides a writer, Modesitt has been a U.S. Navy pilot, a director of research for a political campaign, legislative assistant and staff director for a U.S. Congressman, Director of Legislation and Congressional Relations for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, a consultant on environmental, regulatory, and communications issues, and a college lecturer. He lives in Cedar City, Utah.
show more

Review quote

-A thinking person's fantasy novel, with world-building of the first order.- --Robert J. Sawyer, author of End of an Era

-Exciting, adventurous, gland-tweaking yarn he is spinning on the surface.- --Analog

-Modesitt's elaborate and intelligent working out of a system of magic and a system of technology parallel to it is becoming more the life-blood of the Recluce books with every new volume.- --Booklist

-The author's ability to concentrate on the personal lives of the characters as well as their involvement in world-shaking decisions gives depth and believability to a unique fantasy environment. A strong choice for most fantasy collections.- --Library Journal

-In this fourth tale set in Modesitt's universe, where good and evil, chaos and order, are in perpetual conflict, a young wizard finds that his destiny is to strike a balance, but at considerable personal cost. Modesitt creates a deeper and more intricate world with each volume.- --Publishers Weekly
show more

Rating details

7,077 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 30% (2,111)
4 40% (2,818)
3 26% (1,817)
2 4% (292)
1 1% (39)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X