One Second After
11%
off

One Second After

3.92 (31,529 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies. Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end. The John Matherson Series #1 One Second After #2 One Year After #3 The Final Day (forthcoming) Other Books Pillar to the Skyshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 511 pages
  • 104.14 x 187.96 x 30.48mm | 272.15g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0765356864
  • 9780765356864
  • 26,932

Review quote

Civilization slides into the abyss of a new dark age in this horrifying apocalyptic novel. Forstchen has put Bin Laden's wet dream on paper and, in the process, taken civilization straight to the rack. Stephen Coonts, author of The Assassin The only thing more terrifying than this masterfully crafted story is the possibility of it actually happening-and not a damn thing being done to protect us. W.E.B. Griffin & William E. Butterworth IV Forstchen's work has flair and power. Joel Rosenberg, author of The Sleeping Dragon Good storytelling consists very simply of creating characters so believable that the reader forms a deep bond. Forstchen did such a damned fine job with One Second After that shortly after the first page, I had been reeled in hook, line, and sinker. David Hagberg, New York Times bestselling author of The Expediter Forstchen's work has flair and power. Joel Rosenberg, author of The Sleeping Dragon "show more

About Dr William R Forstchen

William R. Forstchen is the author of We Look Like Men of War, among numerous other books in diverse subjects ranging from history to science fiction. He has co-authored several books with Newt Gingrich, including Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, Pearl Harbor, Days of Infamy, To Try Men's Souls and Valley Forge. Forstchen holds a Ph.D. in History from Purdue University, with specializations in military history and the history of technology. He is currently a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College, near Asheville North Carolina. He is a pilot and flies an original WWII recon "warbird." He resides near Asheville with his daughter Meghan.show more

Rating details

31,529 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 35% (10,918)
4 36% (11,270)
3 20% (6,257)
2 7% (2,129)
1 3% (955)

Our customer reviews

I saw this book recommended on survivalist / prepper forums with the caveat that whilst an excellent piece of TEOTWAWKI fiction it was a bit of a clunky read. I agree that it has been poorly edited and I struggled to get past the first few pages but once it got me hooked I couldn't put it down. The author has done a thorough job of fully exploring how a long-term disaster might impact a community complete with hunger, disease, mental illness, leadership, ethics and armed conflict with criminals and gangs. This isn't Hollywood; it's a tragic story full of death and sorrow. This book will hopefully encourage you to take disaster preparation seriously.show more
by Nathanael Coyne
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X