One Moment

One Moment

3.8 (3,609 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Following on the heels of her "must read" debut novel ("New York Times" best-selling author Jay Asher) "One Moment" is perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman." "This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget. Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can't she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below-dead? As Maggie's memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding? The latest novel from the author of "The Tension of Opposites," "One Moment" is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you. Praise for "One Moment" "Infused with page-turning mystery, "One Moment" is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic."--Cat Patrick, author of "Forgotten "and "Revived """One Moment" took my breath away. Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages."--Lauren Barnholdt, author of "Two-Way Street """"A page-tuner that grabbed me by the throat, and was impossible to put down!"--Katrina Kittle, author of "Reasons to Be Happy ""Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers.""--Kirkus Reviews ""McBride (Th"e Tension of Opposites") skillfully interweaves Maggie's flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery."--"Publishers Weekly"show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 261 pages
  • 144.78 x 210.82 x 25.4mm | 385.55g
  • Egmontusa
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 160684086X
  • 9781606840863
  • 497,910

About Kristina McBride

Kristina McBride is a former English teacher and yearbook advisor. She's published one previous novel, "The Tension of Opposites," which the "Deseret News" called "engrossing and fascinating, painful and hopeful." She lives in Ohio with her husband and two children. Visit her online at www.kristinamcbride.com.show more

Rating details

3,609 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 32% (1,137)
4 31% (1,124)
3 27% (963)
2 8% (279)
1 3% (106)

Our customer reviews

This is a contemporary with a lot of emotion, that is for sure. I love how it was written where we have this big dramatic scene at the beginning where Joey dies. The catch? Maggie can't remember what happened, and we piece everything together right along with her. I like how Kristina McBride wrote in the memories of Joey, while at the same time, revealing not so savory stuff about him that Maggie didn't know before. I got to see why their relationship worked and why she is so messed up about it, while at the same time feeling this rage against a book boy. Like her, I am caught in the middle of a mess he left behind. The title is so fitting, One Moment. Because it really is mind blowing how just one moment, that may even seem insignificant at the time can change things so much, and then there are those big moments, happy or sad that you know is going to effect your life, even if you know know how. My only complaint is that I wished that we figured out what exactly happened sooner so that we could see more growth in Maggie instead of basically being told about it. I also pieced together what happened pretty far ahead of Maggie, but I don't think that took away from my reading experience. I liked how it ended, tied up but still loose at the same time, with her making peace, and being able to start moving on, while still holding on the right amount to be healthy, or at least on the road to getting there.show more
by Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books)
I requested this from NetGalley as I kind of liked the cover and the blurb had me intrigued. After reading the book, I'm in two minds as to how I felt about it. On the one hand, I read this book out in the sun with my toes wiggling in the grass. It was an easy read that was just right for a lazy nearly-summer's day. On the other hand, I felt that this book was a little on the thin side. The characters were a bit too familiar and it was fairly obvious from the beginning exactly how the story was going to play out. I think I would have preferred this book and felt more conflict if the first chapter hadn't been present. Maggie was a decent protagonist and the group of friends was, though perhaps a tad clichéd, quite realistic in some ways. I think many of us can look back on our childhood friendship groups and remember a time when the equilibrium was disturbed. I thought this book dealt well with the confusion and loss that comes when comfort zones become disrupted. The death of Maggie's boyfriend was a great vehicle to exacerbate this conflict. The blurb for this book says, "One Moment is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you." Well, I think that's sort of overselling it. It's a fine little story with some thin, but reasonably engaging characters. Mostly, it was a decent afternoon's read on a sunny day. A three star read!show more
by Laura Williams
Let me begin by saying that this was one of the most heart-wrenching books that I've read in a long time. I love YA contemporary for the fact that you get some books that absolutely rip your soul to shreds, and for me, One Moment was one of those books. Summer's almost over, and Maggie and her friends are celebrating at the gorge when a dare goes horribly wrong, leaving Maggie's boyfriend, Joey, dead and with Maggie not able to remember what happened. The dynamics of her friendships are changing as they all learnt to cope with their grief, especially Adam, Joey's best friend, who is drifting away. As Maggie learns to cope with her own grief, and the suppressed memories that she can't remember, secrets about her boyfriend start to come out, and Maggie tries to figure out what really happened that day at the gorge. Maggie, as a character, is a character I can relate to so well. She's human, she has flaws - she's stubborn and often dwells on the past and the 'what ifs' and wonders if she could have done anything different in her life. She's grieving for Joey, the boy she thought was perfect, in more ways than one. At the start of the novel, after Joey's death, it's so painful to see her go through life without the one person who kept her strong. Maggie and Joey had been dating for two years, but the crush goes way back when, and the romance fits in perfectly with their close knit group of friends. Yet as time moves on, and her memories start to come back, Maggie is questioning whether or not Joey was as perfect as she made him out to be, especially when the secrets start coming out. And this is where the story picks up, and takes you for a ride. The start? It's like the beginning of a roller coaster, where you are cruising along softly, and then all of a sudden - you're dropping down, head first, only to be slammed back up again. And this is what One Moment is like from that moment on, as the secrets are spilled out and friendships are tested. Please note the next paragraph is a spoiler - If you haven't read One Moment yet, don't read it unless you want to be spoiled! One of the things I liked the most though, is how this is a different angle to a very typical YA contemporary romance. Usually we are reading from the perspective of the girl who has fallen in love with the unattainable boy, but this time, the roles are reversed. Maggie is the girlfriend, the one who finds out she's been cheated on, and the girl is not only meant to be one of her best friends, but she also has a backbone and defends her secret relationship with Joey. I often get sick of the "I've fallen in love with my best friend's boyfriend" triangle, but I loved this one. It was perfect. This is one roller coaster of a book. This was emotional, it was real. You'll want to cry alongside Maggie, you'll want to yell at her for not opening her eyes. I felt like a ghost, as if I was actually witnessing all the events unfolding in front of me and not being able to stop them. Kristina has an amazing writing style that will keep you on the edge of your seat, pulling you back in for more and more and you won't want to tear your eyes away, not even to grab a tissue.show more
by Hannah
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X