One Moment

One Moment

3.8 (3,867 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget. Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can't she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below--dead?

As Maggie's memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

McBride delivers a novel of secrets that packs an emotional punch, perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 140 x 208 x 23mm | 295g
  • Sky Pony Press
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1510714553
  • 9781510714557

Review quote

"Infused with page-turning mystery, One Moment is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic." --Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived "One Moment took my breath away. Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages. --Lauren Barnholdt, author of Two-Way Street

"A page-turner that grabbed me by the throat, and was impossible to put down!"--Katrina Kittle, author of Reasons to Be Happy

"Kristina McBride has written a poignant, heartbreaking tale of how one moment in a person's life can change everything. . . . [A] a worthy addition to teen collections." --VOYA

"Realistic dialogue and a first-person narration that leaves adults outside the circle of interest mark this as a quick read that offers an aftertaste of thoughtfulness. . . . McBride's story of death's effect on the living is both artistic and authentic. --Booklist

McBride . . . skillfully interweaves Maggie's flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery..." --Publishers Weekly
show more

About Kristina McBride

Kristina McBride is a former English teacher and yearbook advisor. She dreamed of being a published author since she lived across the street from a library as a kid. She is also the author of The Tension of Opposites and A Million Times Goodnight, and lives with her husband and two young children in in Centerville, Ohio.
show more

Rating details

3,867 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 32% (1,220)
4 31% (1,197)
3 27% (1,031)
2 8% (302)
1 3% (117)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X