One Heart

One Heart

3.51 (219 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

From the award-winning author of the acclaimed short story collection "Director of the World" comes this charmingly poignant tale of two sisters whose experiences often separate them but whose love for eachother is deepened over a lifetime. Bonded by their affection and shared loneliness, Gladys and Ivy remain divided by a wall of silence that prevents Gladys from accepting the solace Ivy desperately wants to give. But their quiet lives are upended when a young woman with a mysterious past arrives on their doorstep and whisks Gladys away on a journey of discovery. Ultimately Gladys's experience transforms both sisters, teaching them the importance of emotional honesty and the value of family. In the tradition of Anne Tyler and Louise Erdrich, "One Heart" is a moving tale of friendship, forgiveness, and redemption-a remarkable achievement from an exquisitely talented writer.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • United States
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 006210487X
  • 9780062104878

Review quote

"A lovely book, full of surprises, with characters that stay in your heart long after the book has been put down."--Elizabeth Strout, author of "Amy and Isabelle""Fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anne Tyler will take to this book and find it compelling."--"Chicago Tribune""Jane McCafferty writes beautifully, with a poet's eye, a wise and passionate heart . . . . Ordinary characters reveal their extraordinary hidden lives, rich with humor, determination and an ability to marvel at the mysterious and sometimes painful workings of the world."Kim Edwards, author of "The Secrets of a Fire King"
show more

Rating details

219 ratings
3.51 out of 5 stars
5 16% (35)
4 32% (70)
3 40% (88)
2 11% (24)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X