One Half from the East
29%
off

One Half from the East

3.97 (1,456 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi's first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh-a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck-dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won't last forever, though-unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi's first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 24mm | 354g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • International ed.
  • 0062421905
  • 9780062421906
  • 417,446

Review Text

"Like its young protagonist, One Half from the East dances between hope and hard realities. Obayda's struggle to define herself in a world that is all too eager to do the job for her is captivating." Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus
show more

Review quote

"Like its young protagonist, One Half from the East dances between hope and hard realities. Obayda's struggle to define herself in a world that is all too eager to do the job for her is captivating." -- Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus "Told in clear, vivid prose that combines detailed descriptions of daily life with a good dose of adventure, this story... This is an excellent title that will offer students a window into life in Afghanistan and open interesting, age-appropriate conversations about gender expectations and roles in different countries." -- School Library Journal (starred review) "By focusing on gender inequality as seen through the lens of a traditional society, Hashimi lets readers see themselves in Obayda's emotions, even as the outcomes remain true to the Afghan culture Hashimi portrays so fluently." -- The Horn Book "The first-person point of view in this novel will be impactful and meaningful to readers. Hashimi's Obayda will provide readers with insightful information about Islamic culture, and particularly the Afghani culture, as it relates to girls." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "With beautiful language, rich characters, and a perspective not often seen in children's literature, this heartbreaking story will leave a lasting mark." -- Booklist
show more

About Nadia Hashimi

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. In 2002, Nadia made her first trip to Afghanistan with her parents. She is a pediatrician and lives with her family in the Washington, DC, suburbs. She is the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle grade novels One Half from the East and The Sky at Our Feet. Visit her online at www.nadiahashimi.com.
show more

Rating details

1,456 ratings
3.97 out of 5 stars
5 28% (405)
4 46% (672)
3 22% (320)
2 3% (49)
1 1% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X