Once More Unto the Breach
10%
off

Once More Unto the Breach

3.92 (13 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

For readers of The Nightingale and Beneath a Scarlet Sky comes a gripping historical thriller set against a fully-realized WWII backdrop about the love a father has for his son and the lengths he is willing to go to find him, from a talented new voice in suspense. Rhys Gravenor, Great War veteran and Welsh sheep farmer, arrives in Paris in the midst of the city's liberation with a worn letter in his pocket that may have arrived years too late. As he follows the footsteps of his missing son across an unfamiliar, war-torn country, he struggles to come to terms with the incident that drove a wedge between the two of them. Joined by Charlotte Dubois, an American ambulance driver with secrets of her own, Rhys discovers that even as liberation sweeps across France, the war is far from over. And his personal war has only begun as he is haunted by memories of previous battles and hampered at every turn by danger and betrayal. In a race against time and the war, Rhys follows his son's trail from Paris to the perilous streets of Vichy to the starving mobs in Lyon to the treacherous Alps. But Rhys is not the only one searching for his son. In a race of his own, a relentless enemy stalks him across the country and will stop at nothing to find the young man first. The country is in tatters, no one is trustworthy, and Rhys must unravel the mystery of his son's wartime actions in the desperate hope of finding him before it's too late. Too late to mend the frayed bond between them. Too late to beg his forgiveness. Too late to bring him home alive.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 22.86mm | 430.91g
  • United States
  • English
  • 1947993607
  • 9781947993600

Review quote

Incredible Praise for ONCE MORE UNTO THE BREACH "Stirring and skillfully-told and plotted, Meghan Holloway's historical novel ONCE MORE UNTO THE BREACH tells the story of a widowed World War I veteran hunting for his lost and estranged son in France as World War II rages about him. The characters are full and rich, their emotions are raw and honest, and throughout the suspenseful tale they come to know the healing powers of love and place." --Mark Sullivan, #1 bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky "With a taut plotline and lyrical prose, Meghan Holloway weaves history and suspense into a searing and visceral tale of unyielding love and epic valor against one of the darkest moments of human history. Once More Unto The Breach is impactful and impressive! ―Pam Jenoff, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Lost Girls of Paris
show more

About Meghan Holloway

Meghan Holloway found her first Nancy Drew mystery in a sun-dappled attic at the age of eight and subsequently fell in love with the grip and tautness of a well-told mystery. She flew an airplane before she learned how to drive a car, did her undergrad work in Creative Writing in the sweltering south, and finished a Masters of Library and Information Science in the blustery north. She spent a summer and fall in Maine picking peaches and apples, traveled the world for a few years, and did a stint fighting crime in the records section of a police department. She now lives in the foothills of the Appalachians with her standard poodle and spends her days as a scientist with the requisite glasses but minus the lab coat. Follow her at @AMeghanHolloway.
show more

Rating details

13 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 38% (5)
4 31% (4)
3 15% (2)
2 15% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X