Once a King

Once a King

4.03 (130 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

A young king searches for a way to save his kingdom in this romantic fantasy from Erin Summerill, who was called "absolutely marvelous" by New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas.

Aodren: A lonely, young king, searching for a way to dismantle his father's dark legacy.
Lirra A girl with the power to control the wind, torn between duty and following her dreams

For twenty years, Channelers--women with a magical ability--have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can't be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people's fears. Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet when he asks for help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can't say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he's working so hard to rebuild? Erin Summerill returns with a high-stakes fantasy full of romance, magic, and revenge perfect for fans of Susan Dennard and C. J. Redwine.
show more

The Best Books of 2018

Check out the top books of the year on our page Best Books of 2018. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 464 pages
  • 140 x 213 x 41mm | 567g
  • Boston, MA, United States
  • English
  • 1328949974
  • 9781328949974
  • 279,936

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review quote

"Prepare your heart for the swooniest king in all the lands! With poignant prose and intricate world building, ONCE A KING casts its spell from the very first pages. Fly--don't walk--to sweep up this soaring tale." -Pintip Dunn, New York Times best-selling author and RITA award winner

"Brain candy for fans of Summerill's worldbuilding."--Kirkus

"Lirra is a fierce heroine...A lighter fantasy than Graceling, but for a similar audience."--Booklist

"Timely...A satisfying mixture of political machination, mystery, magic, and romance, especially for fans of previous volumes."--School Library Journal

"Clever banter, cloak-and-dagger derring-do, and tentative, sweet romance...Series fans and new readers will find much to love."--Publishers Weekly
show more

Rating details

130 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 42% (55)
4 28% (36)
3 23% (30)
2 5% (7)
1 2% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X