On Thin Icing

On Thin Icing

3.93 (1,615 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

It's January in Ashland, Oregon. Things are quiet in the cold, sleepy town, and Jules is thrilled when she's hired to cater a retreat at the nearby Lake of the Woods Resort. She packs up her baking supplies and maneuvers the twisting, treacherous roads to the high alpine lake. Jules and her assistant Sterling quickly familiarise themselves with the rustic lodge and its equally rustic kitchen. But just as they find their rhythm in the kitchen and the guests arrive, so does someone from Jules not-so-distant past - her estranged husband Carlos. They haven't seen each other in months, and Jules can't believe that Carlos wants to work on reconciliation while she's in the middle of her biggest job ever. Things go from bad to worse for Jules when a storm hits and knocks out power. She treks through the snow to the marina for extra supplies, where she discovers a body resting on the ice. Now Jules has a retreat to cater, a husband intent on fixing their marriage, and a murder on her hands.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 104 x 172 x 21mm | 136.08g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250054257
  • 9781250054258
  • 64,539

Review quote

"This debut culinary mystery is a light soufflé of a book (with recipes) that makes a perfect mix for fans of Jenna McKinley, Leslie Budewitz, or Jessica Beck." --Library Journal on Meet Your Baker "Marvelous... All the elements I love in a cozy mystery are there-a warm and inviting atmosphere, friendly and likable main characters, and a nasty murder mystery to solve... I highly recommend MEET YOUR BAKER and look forward to reading the next book in this new series!" --Fresh Fiction on Meet Your Baker "This debut culinary mystery is a light soufflé of a book (with recipes) that makes a perfect mix for fans of Jenna McKinley, Leslie Budewitz, or Jessica Beck." --Library Journal on the Bake Shop Mysteries "Alexander weaves a tasty tale of deceit, family ties, delicious pastries, and murder against a backdrop of Shakespeare and Oregon aflame. Meet Your Baker starts off a promising new series." --Edith Maxwell, author of A Tine to Live, A Tine to Die on the Bake Shop Mysteries "With its likable characters, tightly plotted storyline, and innovative culinary tips, Meet Your Baker is sure to satisfy both dedicated foodies and ardent mystery lovers alike." --Jessie Crockett, author of Drizzled with Death on the Bake Shop Mysteries "A delectable tale of murder and intrigue... This bakeshop mystery is a real page-turner, and we look forward to others in the series, just as tasty." --Portland Book Review on Meet Your Baker
show more

About Ellie Alexander

ELLIE ALEXANDER is a Pacific Northwest native who spends ample time testing pastry recipes in her home kitchen or at one of the many famed coffeehouses nearby. When she's not coated in flour, you'll find her outside exploring hiking trails and trying to burn off calories consumed in the name of research. She is the author of the Bakeshop Mysteries, including Meet Your Baker and A Batter of Life and Death. You can find her on Facebook to learn more!
show more

Rating details

1,615 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 25% (410)
4 46% (740)
3 26% (419)
2 2% (39)
1 0% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X