On the Steel Breeze

On the Steel Breeze

4.03 (5,146 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$21.36

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

It is a thousand years in the future. Mankind is making its way out into the universe on massive generation ships. The new novel from Alastair Reynolds is one for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 496 pages
  • 159 x 246 x 40mm | 770g
  • Gollancz
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0575090456
  • 9780575090453
  • 140,763

Review quote

Alastair Reynolds's On the Steel Breeze moves his ambitious Poseidon's Children's series into interstellar space. -- Adam Roberts * The Guardian * Clever, thoughtful, feel-good SF. -- John Wyatt * SUN * The book is not merely a sequel, but a standalone adventure with heart. -- Val Nolan * Irish Examiner * On The Steel Breeze is a brilliant, self-assured, colourful space opera- with talking elephants. -- John Wyatt * SUN * As good as contemporary SF gets. -- Jonathan Wright * SFX MAGAZINE * Alastair Reynold's On the Steel Breeze moved his ambitious Poseidon's Children's series into interstellar space. -- Adam Roberts * Adam Roberts * Clever, thoughtful, feel-good SF. -- John Wyatt * SUN * The book is not merely a sequel, but a standalone adventure with heart. -- Val Nolan * IRISH EXAMINER * On The Steel Breeze is a brilliant, self-assured, colourful space opera- with talking elephants. -- John Wyatt * SUN * As good as contemporary SF gets. -- Jonathan Wright * SFX MAGAZINE *
show more

About Alastair Reynolds

Alastair Reynolds was born in Barry, South Wales, in 1966. He studied at Newcastle and St Andrews Universities and has a Ph.D. in astronomy. He stopped working as an astrophysicist for the European Space Agency to become a full-time writer. REVELATION SPACE and PUSHING ICE were shortlisted for the ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD; REVELATION SPACE, ABSOLUTION GAP, DIAMOND DOGS and CENTURY RAIN were shortlisted for the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARD and CHASM CITY won the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARD.

You can learn more by visiting www.alastairreynolds.com, or by following @AquilaRift on twitter.
show more

Rating details

5,146 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 29% (1,514)
4 48% (2,483)
3 19% (970)
2 3% (148)
1 1% (31)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X