Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza

Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza

4.34 (73 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.34 (73 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Paola Santiago and the River of Tears, and Disney's Encanto will be captivated by this fantastical novel about a girl who must learn to trust her ancestral powers when she comes face-to-face with the Mexican legend La Lechuza.

Omega Morales's family has been practicing magic for centuries in Noche Buena. But over the years, the town's reputation for the supernatural is no longer one the people carry with pride. So Omega's family keeps to themselves, and in private, they're Empaths-diviners who can read and manipulate the emotions of people and objects around them. But Omega's powers don't quite work, and it leaves her feeling like an outsider in her own family.

When a witch with the power to transform herself into an owl-known in Mexican folklore as La Lechuza-shows up unannounced, Omega, her best friend Clau (who happens to be a ghost), and her cousin Carlitos must conduct a seance under a full moon in order to unravel the mystery of the legend.

Suddenly Omega's magic begins to change, and the key to understanding her powers is more complicated than she thought. Omega will have to decide what's more important-trusting the instincts of others or learning to trust in herself.
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 144 x 198 x 36mm | 393g
  • Little, Brown Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0316304166
  • 9780316304160
  • 1,163,279

Review quote

* "Full of dark mystery and unique and memorable characters, Kemp's middle grade debut will enchant readers. Heartfelt and suspenseful, this title is an excellent choice for middle grade collections."
--School Library Journal, starred review
show more

About Laekan Z Kemp

Laekan Zea Kemp is the author of Pura Belpre Honor book Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet and Heartbreak Symphony. She has three objectives when it comes to storytelling: to make people laugh, cry, and crave Mexican food. Her work celebrates Chicane grit, resilience, creativity, and joy while exploring themes of identity and mental health. She lives in Austin, Texas. Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza is her middle grade debut. Laekan invites you to visit her at laekanzeakemp.com or follow her on Twitter @LaekanZeaKemp.
show more

Rating details

73 ratings
4.34 out of 5 stars
5 52% (38)
4 33% (24)
3 12% (9)
2 3% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X