Official Truth, 101 Proof
37%
off

Official Truth, 101 Proof : The Inside Story of Pantera

3.81 (647 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Few heavy metal acts survived the turmoil of the early 1990s music scene. Pantera was different. Instead of humoring the market, the band instead demanded that the audience come to them by releasing a series of fiercely uncompromising, platinum albums, including "Vulgar Display of Power" and "Far Beyond Driven"--two #1 albums that, like Metallica's "And Justice for All," sold millions of copies despite minimal airplay. Rex Brown's memoir is the definitive account of life inside one of rock's biggest bands, which succeeded against all odds but ultimately ended in tragedy when iconic lead guitarist Darrell "Dimebag" Abbott was murdered mid-performance by a deranged fan. This is a lucid account of the previously untold story behind one of the most influential bands in heavy metal history, written by the man best qualified to tell the truth about those incredible and often difficult years of fame and excess.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 160.02 x 231.14 x 33.02mm | 498.95g
  • The Perseus Books Group
  • Da Capo Press Inc
  • Cambridge, MA, United States
  • English
  • 16 pages of b/w photos
  • 0306821370
  • 9780306821370
  • 50,741

Review quote

AOL Music's Noisecreep.com, 3/6/13 "A warts and all look at Brown's journey from small town Texas music geek to platinum-selling, arena-filling rock star. Besides the insightful, and always colorful, Pantera stories included throughout Official Truth, Brown also comes clean about his own personal battles with drugs and alcohol." SkullsNBones.com, 3/6/13 "Rex is completely honest and forthcoming in this book, and it's a major insight to one of the most influential bands of all time...A must read!" "The Aquarian," 3/13 "Offers the shocking insight into one of the most influential and extremely popular metal bands to ever reach the annals of heavy metal history!... Fans of Pantera and Rex Brown will love this book!" BackstageAxxess.com, 3/10: "Rex's story is both honest and brutally real...Rockstars are often put on a pedestal and made to seem larger than life. Rex Brown gives us the other side of the story. His heartfelt account tells us the good, the bad, and the ugly, making "Official Truth, 101 Proof" much more than just a book about a rock band. It is a tale of friendships made and friendships lost and the triumphs and tragedies along the way. Dust off your bookshelf and clear some space. You're going to want to add this one to your collection." RidgewoodPatch.com3/11 "A compelling read." SonicExcess.com, 3/12: "Offers a perspective from the eyes of the silent member of Pantera. Often humorous, tragic, brutally honest, and always entertaining...A must read for any fan of Rock, Metal, and Pantera..."Official Truth" is similar to the music of Pantera, no compromise with no room for bullshit." SkullsNBones.com, 3/12 "Rex holds nothing back and really invites you into his Pantera world like never before...Now with this new book, we understand a little more about one of the most historic bands to ever walk this planet...A very blunt and honest read that will definitely get people talking in the metal scene...A must read for all metal fans." Exashow more

About Rex Brown

Rex Brown was born in 1964 in Graham, Texas. He joined Pantera in 1982. He has also played with Down and Kill Devil Hill. Mark Eglinton is a Scottish author, based mostly in the U.S. As well as being a friend of Rex Brown's having spent time on tour with Down in 2010, he's the author of "James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door" (IMP, 2010) as well as being a frequent and highly acclaimed contributor to "The Quietus" - a popular culture website voted Best Website by "Record Of The Day" as well as being hailed by multiple publications including "The Guardian," "The Times," "The New York Times," and "Chicago Time Out."show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X