4.16 (50 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


When a swan crashes through her window at the height of a winter storm, journalist Mitzi Fairweather decides to nurse the injured bird back to health. But at sunset, the swan becomes a woman.

This unexpected visitor is Odette, the swan princess - alone, adrift and in danger in 21st-century Britain, entirely dependent on the kindness of strangers. Bird by day, human by night, and with no way to go home, she remains convinced, to Mitzi's distress, that only a man's vow of eternal love can break her spell.

Mitzi is determined to help Odette, but as the two try to hide the improbable truth, their web of deception grows increasingly tangled. Can they find a way to save Odette before it's too late?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • 129 x 198 x 28mm | 282g
  • Unbound Digital
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1789650003
  • 9781789650006

Review quote

"It is very rarely that I find a new writer whose work I love so much."

- Katie Fforde "Jessica writes with an unpredictable and original voice and a dazzling perceptiveness."

- Joanna Lumley
show more

About Jessica Duchen

Jessica Duchen's writing on classical music, opera and ballet has appeared in The Independent, The Guardian and The Sunday Times. Her first five novels have gathered a loyal fan-base and wide acclaim: most recently Ghost Variations (published by Unbound, 2016) was selected as Book of the Month in BBC Music Magazine and was among the Daily Mail's Best Reads of 2016 ("A thrilling read" - John Suchet).

Jessica grew up in London, read music at Cambridge and felt torn at first between the prospects of a musical career and a literary one. Her interest in cross-genre arts finds music playing a vital role in her fiction as well as her journalism, and she frequently narrates concert versions of three of her novels, Ghost Variations, Alicia's Gift and Hungarian Dances.

Current highlights include her first opera libretto, Silver Birch, for the composer Roxanna Panufnik - a commission from Garsington Opera for premiere in July 2017. Her output also includes two plays, biographies of the composers Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Gabriel Faure (both published by Phaidon) and her popular classical music blog, JDCMB (http://jessicamusic.blogspot.com).

Jessica lives in London with her violinist husband and two cats. She enjoys playing the piano (preferably when nobody can hear her), as well as cookery, long walks and plundering second-hand bookshops for out-of-print musical gems.
show more

Rating details

50 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 44% (22)
4 32% (16)
3 20% (10)
2 4% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X