The Object of Your Affections
9%
off

The Object of Your Affections

3.5 (22 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Two best friends rewrite the rules of friendship, love and family...and change everything they thought they knew about motherhoodParis Kahn Fraser has it all--a successful career as an assistant district attorney, a beautiful home in New York City, and a handsome, passionate husband who chose her over having a family of his own. Neal's dream of fatherhood might have been the only shadow in their otherwise happy life...until Paris's best friend comes to town.Naira Dalmia never thought she'd be a widow before thirty. Left reeling in the aftermath of her husband's death, all she wants is to start over. She trades Mumbai for New York, and rigid family expectations for the open acceptance of her best friend. After all, there isn't anything she and Paris wouldn't do for each other.But when Paris asks Naira to be their surrogate, they'll learn if their friendship has what it takes to defy society, their families and even their own biology as these two best friends embark on a journey that will change their lives forever.Wry, daring and utterly absorbing, The Object of Your Affections is an unforgettable story about two women challenging the norms...and the magic that happens when we choose to forge our own path.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 130 x 203 x 22mm | 290g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 1525823531
  • 9781525823534

Review quote

"Complex, insightful and beautifully written...a book that will stay with you long after the final page." -Kristan Higgins, New York Times bestselling author"Falguni Kothari's exquisitely complex story of marriage, friendships, and unconventional choices reminds us that real love requires great courage." - Jamie Beck, bestselling author of When You Knew"An intensely original and provocative story that tackles the complex challenges a modern woman faces within marriage. What makes a good wife? A good mother? What makes a woman lovable? Kothari grapples with love, ambition, friendship, and motherhood in this brave, insightful novel." - Barbara O'Neal, author of The Art of Inheriting Secrets"A fascinating, captivating story about love, marriage, wealth and society, and the bonds of lifelong friendship." -Alisha Rai, author of Hate to Want You"A profound and deeply emotional twist on the classic love triangle, My Last Love Story is a provocative tale of lifelong friendship tested by fate. Poignant and satisfying, My Last Love Story is ultimately the type of celebration of love and life that reminds us why we read in the first place." -Jamie Brenner, author of The Forever Summer"Kothari's well-written love story is a tearjerker with a twist. For fans of Cecelia Ahern's PS, I Love You and JoJo Moyes's Me Before You." -Library Journal on My Last Love Story"At once heartbreaking, delightful, and completely unexpected. A must-read!" -Sonali Dev, award-winning author of The Bollywood Bride, on my Last Love Story"At the center of Kothari's novel is a love triangle that defies all expectations and crosses all boundaries. She examines love and loss, desire and desolation, with a deft, wry touch that made me keep reading late into the night and moved me to tears." -Julia Tagan, author of A Question of Class, on My Last Love Story"Through her three main characters and the triangle that connects them, Kothari transcends the expected by seeking a more nuanced middle place, where kindness, passion, and duty intersect. A deeply affecting story about what it means to love." -Kathryn Craft, award-winning author The Art of Falling, on My Last Love Story"Ms. Kothari's writing is beautiful, lyrical and full of surprises. My Last Love Story speaks to the heart, exposing wants, needs, fears and desires that aren't often said out loud. Ms. Kothari handles it all with an expert hand." -K. M. Jackson on My Last Love Story
show more

Rating details

22 ratings
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 27% (6)
4 27% (6)
3 23% (5)
2 14% (3)
1 9% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X