Nyxia
7%
off

Nyxia : The Nyxia Triad

4.1 (3,898 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Brilliant concept meets stellar execution in this fast-paced deep space adventure. I was hooked from page one' Victoria Schwab, No.1 New York Times Bestselling Author


'And just like that, I'm leaving Earth behind . . .'

Emmett Atwater is just a poor kid plucked from the streets of Detroit.

But now he and nine teenagers like him are travelling to a distant planet aboard the Babel corporation's lightship.

Before they get there, they are told, two of them will be eliminated.

The eight who make it will land on an alien world, where they will hunt for Nyxia, the most extraordinary substance in the universe.

But first Emmett must endure frightening tests, rivalry with his fellow chosen ones and the fear that Babel aren't telling the truth.

Because if Babel aren't, they'll be trapped, light years from home.

And all alone . . .


'A high-octane thriller . . . Nyxia grabs you from the first line and never lets go.' Marie Lu,#1 New York Timesbestselling author of the Young Elites series
show more

Product details

  • 13+
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 23mm | 266g
  • Michael Joseph Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0718186877
  • 9780718186876
  • 303,030

Review Text

Fans of Hunger Games and Red Rising will devour this - it's ridiculously good. I loved every page K.D., Goodreads
show more

Review quote

The futuristic ship is full of impressive gadgets; the competitions are clever and it's fun to guess what skill they might be designed to elicit; the true stars, however, are the teens themselves, wildly diverse and all carrying their own emotional baggage. It is still of note when an African American boy pops up as a sci-fi protagonist, and Emmett is a complex, well-developed, and rich character who speaks, acts, and interacts like a teen who was raised in a rough, urban setting but surrounded by people who love him. Both curious and suspicious at every turn, he is an ideal narrator, and a sequel can't come soon enough * The Bulletin of the Center of Children's Books * With a vivid cast of characters, relentless pacing, and layers ofmystery, Reintgen hits all the right buttons to craft an addictive pageturner -- Fonda Lee * author of Zeroboxer and Exo * Sleek, fast, and action-packed, this is a thrilling new take on space adventure. I got to the end and instantly wanted more -- Nic Stone * debut author of Dear Martin * Sleek, fast, and action-packed, this is a thrilling new take on space adventure. I got to the end and instantly wanted more -- Stefan Bachmann * author of the internationally acclaimed The Peculiar * Reintgen's Nyxia has all the qualities that will make this become a blockbuster and one of the most important young-adult science-fiction stories of our time. The plot is gripping. The characters are a spectacularly multi-ethnic blend of misfits and outsiders that are unflinchingly human and flawed. Simply amazing all around, and I desperately need the next story from this new author -- Jay Coles * author of Tyler Johnson Was Here * Brilliant concept meets stellar execution in this fast-paced deep space adventure. I was hooked from page one * Victoria Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author * File this book under A for Amazing -- Jay Kristoff * New York Times bestselling author of The Illuminae Files * An amazing adventure of intelligence and strength, this sci-fi book presents diverse and complex characters in a tale about greed and internal compromise. The author brings to life more than a dozen characters with depth and individual personalities and agendas. This is a wonderful example of how personal and corporate values are often intertwined despite being at odds with each other. Verdict: Fans of The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner series will enjoy this series opener * School Library Journal * A black protagonist in outer space is welcome...copious action and a reality TV atmosphere (the scoreboard shows regularly) make the pace flow. Fast-moving and intriguing * Kirkus Reviews * The setup will draw comparisons to The Hunger Games, but Reintgen's characters stand on their own, and the trials they face are inventive. Emmett's self-deprecation, wit, and ability to see the good in others will keep readers riveted and eager for the next volume in this planned trilogy * Publishers Weekly * Fast-moving and thrilling, and very difficult to put down -- Justin, Goodreads My most anticipated YA debut of 2017 -- Pied Piper, Goodreads An absolute page-turner -- Vic James, author of 'Gilded Cage' In a word: Wow. I could not put it down. If I could give it six stars, I would -- Nic Stone, Goodreads Fans of Hunger Games and Red Rising will devour this - it's ridiculously good. I loved every page -- K.D., Goodreads
show more

About Scott Reintgen

Scott Reintgen has spent his career teaching English and Creative Writing in diverse urban communities in the United States. The hardest lesson he learned was that inspiration isn't equally accessible for everyone. So he set out to write a novel for the front-row sleepers and back-row dreamers of his classrooms. He hopes that his former students see themselves, vibrant and on the page, in characters like Emmett. Nyxia and Nyxia Unleashed are the first two novels in The Nyxia Triad.

You can follow Scott on Facebook, on Instagram and on Twitter at @Scott_Thought.
show more

Rating details

3,898 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 39% (1,508)
4 40% (1,545)
3 17% (650)
2 4% (150)
1 1% (45)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X