Nudge
32%
off

Nudge : Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth and Happiness

3.8 (33,805 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions--for fans of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Daniel Kahneman's Thinking Fast and Slow New York Times bestseller Named a Best Book of the Year by The Economist and the Financial Times Every day we make choices--about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children's health and education, even about the causes we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nudge is about how we make these choices and how we can make better ones. Using dozens of eye-opening examples and drawing on decades of behavioral science research, Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Harvard Law School professor Cass R. Sunstein show that no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way, and that we are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions. But by knowing how people think, we can use sensible "choice architecture" to nudge people toward the best decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society, without restricting our freedom of choice. More than 750,000 copies soldshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 312 pages
  • 137.16 x 210.82 x 22.86mm | 294.83g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Updated
  • 014311526X
  • 9780143115267
  • 1,800

Review quote

aFundamentally changes the way I think about the world. . . . Academics arenat supposed to be able to write this well.aaSteven Levitt, co-author of "Freakonomics" a[An] utterly brilliant book. . . . "Nudge" wonat nudge youait will knock you off your feet.a aDaniel Gilbert, author of "Stumbling on Happiness" a"Nudge" is as important a book as any Iave read in perhaps twenty years. It is a book that people interested in any aspect of public policy should read. It is a book that people interested in politics should read. It is a book that people interested in ideas about human freedom should read. It is a book that people interested in promoting human welfare should read. If youare not interested in any of these topics, you can read something else.a aBarry Schwartz, "The American Prospect" aThis book is terrific. It will change the way you think, not only about the world around you and some of its bigger problems, but also about yourself.a aMichael Lewis, author of "Moneyball"show more

About Richard H. Thaler

Richard H. Thaler was awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics. He is the Charles R. Walgreen Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business, where he is the director of the Center for Decision Research. He is also the co-director (with Robert Shiller) of the Behavioral Economics Project at the National Bureau of Economic Research and in 2015 was the president of the American Economic Association. He has been published in several prominent journals and is the author of a number of books, including Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics. Cass R. Sunstein is the Robert Walmsley University Professor at Harvard Law School, where he is the founder and director of the Program on Behavioral Economics and Public Policy. He is by far the most cited law professor in the United States. From 2009 to 2012 he served in the Obama administration as Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs. He has testified before congressional committees, appeared on national television and radio shows, been involved in constitution-making and law reform activities in a number of nations, and written many articles and books, including Simpler: The Future of Government and Wiser: Getting Beyond Groupthink to Make Groups Smarter.show more

Table of contents

NudgeAcknowledgments Introduction Part I: Humans and Econs 1. Biases and Blunders 2. Resisting Temptation 3. Following the Herd 4.When Do We Need a Nudge? 5. Choice Architecture Part II: Money 6. Save More Tomorrow 7. Naive Investing 8. Credit Markets 9. Privatizing Social Security: Smorgasbord Style Part III: Health 10. Prescription Drugs: Part D for Daunting 11. How to Increase Organ Donations 12. Saving the Planet Part IV: Freedom 13. Improving School Choices 14. Should Patients Be Forced to Buy Lottery Tickets? 15. Privatizing Marriage Part V: Extensions and Objections 16. A Dozen Nudges 17. Objections 18. The Real Third Way 19. Bonus Chapter: Twenty More Nudges Postscript: November 2008 Notes Bibliography Indexshow more

Rating details

33,805 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 27% (9,147)
4 37% (12,612)
3 27% (9,065)
2 7% (2,329)
1 2% (652)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X