Nudge

Nudge : Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth and Happiness

3.8 (33,124 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

List price: US$17.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

From the winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions--for fans of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Daniel Kahneman's Thinking Fast and Slow New York Times bestseller Named a Best Book of the Year by The Economist and the Financial Times Nudge is about choices--how we make them and how we're led to make better ones. Authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on how to prevent the countless bad mistakes we make in our lives--including ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources, and other numerous bad decisions regarding health care, our families, and education. Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, they demonstrate that sensible "choice architecture" can successfully nudge people toward the best decision without restricting their freedom of choice. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining--a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being. More than 750,000 copies soldshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 312 pages
  • 137.16 x 210.82 x 22.86mm | 294.83g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Updated
  • 014311526X
  • 9780143115267
  • 167

Review quote

"Fundamentally changes the way I think about the world. . . . Academics aren't supposed to be able to write this well." --Steven Levitt, co-author of Freakonomics "[An] utterly brilliant book. . . . Nudge won't nudge you-it will knock you off your feet." --Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness "Nudge is as important a book as any I've read in perhaps twenty years. It is a book that people interested in any aspect of public policy should read. It is a book that people interested in politics should read. It is a book that people interested in ideas about human freedom should read. It is a book that people interested in promoting human welfare should read. If you're not interested in any of these topics, you can read something else." --Barry Schwartz, The American Prospect "This book is terrific. It will change the way you think, not only about the world around you and some of its bigger problems, but also about yourself." --Michael Lewis, author of Moneyballshow more

About Richard H. Thaler

Richard H. Thaler was awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics. He is the Charles R. Walgreen Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business, where he is the director of the Center for Decision Research. He is also the co-director (with Robert Shiller) of the Behavioral Economics Project at the National Bureau of Economic Research and in 2015 was the president of the American Economic Association. He has been published in several prominent journals and is the author of a number of books, including Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics. Cass R. Sunstein is the Robert Walmsley University Professor at Harvard Law School, where he is the founder and director of the Program on Behavioral Economics and Public Policy. He is by far the most cited law professor in the United States. From 2009 to 2012 he served in the Obama administration as Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs. He has testified before congressional committees, appeared on national television and radio shows, been involved in constitution-making and law reform activities in a number of nations, and written many articles and books, including Simpler: The Future of Government and Wiser: Getting Beyond Groupthink to Make Groups Smarter.show more

Table of contents

NudgeAcknowledgments Introduction Part I: Humans and Econs 1. Biases and Blunders 2. Resisting Temptation 3. Following the Herd 4.When Do We Need a Nudge? 5. Choice Architecture Part II: Money 6. Save More Tomorrow 7. Naive Investing 8. Credit Markets 9. Privatizing Social Security: Smorgasbord Style Part III: Health 10. Prescription Drugs: Part D for Daunting 11. How to Increase Organ Donations 12. Saving the Planet Part IV: Freedom 13. Improving School Choices 14. Should Patients Be Forced to Buy Lottery Tickets? 15. Privatizing Marriage Part V: Extensions and Objections 16. A Dozen Nudges 17. Objections 18. The Real Third Way 19. Bonus Chapter: Twenty More Nudges Postscript: November 2008 Notes Bibliography Indexshow more

Rating details

33,124 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 27% (8,899)
4 37% (12,370)
3 27% (8,917)
2 7% (2,302)
1 2% (636)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X