Notes from Walnut Tree Farm
32%
off

Notes from Walnut Tree Farm

4.32 (640 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Edited by  , Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Calming, thought-provoking, poetic and honest, Notes from Walnut Tree Farm is a collection of writing and musing by documentary-maker, environmentalist and author of Waterlog, Roger Deakin.

'Gentle, straight, honest, inquisitive, funny, melancholic' Spectator

'A lovely book that is a poignant epitaph to a remarkable individual' Amazon Review
________________

For the last six years of his life, Roger Deakinkept notebooks. In them, he wrote his daily thoughts, impressions, feelings and observations about and around his Suffolk home, Walnut Tree Farm. Collected here are the very best of these writings, capturing his extraordinary, restless curiosity about nature as well as his impressions of our changing world.

Perfect for fans of Robert Macfarlane and Colin Tudge, this is a book that fills readers with a desire to explore the world around them.
________________

'A secular saint' The Times

'Marvellous, wonderful, lovely, remarkable . . . to be read and reread and treasured' Elizabeth Jane Howard, Daily Mail

'Very funny, sharp-eyed. To look at the world through Deakin's eyes was to see somewhere that was more wonderful than it often appears' Sunday Telegraph

'Thoughtful and invigorating, full of humour, timeless . . . will take its place among the classics of Nature diaries . . . to be read alongside Frances Kilvert, Gilbert White, and Dorothy Wordsworth' Mail on Sunday

'So busy and bustling with life' Observer
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 19mm | 225g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141039027
  • 9780141039022
  • 27,963

Review quote

'Superb. Totally fresh and vivid' - Chris Yates 'Deakin's account sings, as unruly and robust as the world he bore witness to ... Deakin's greatest gift is to make the ecologically minded life a matter of gleeful fun' Observer 'If anything this book is superior to Deakin's previous book Wildwood, which is saying something, since that was marvellous. The diary form works beautifully ... In just a few words, Deakin can delight and inspire in equal measure' - Tom Hodgkinson
show more

About Roger Deakin

A filmmaker and writer with a particular interest in nature and the environment, Roger Deakin was the author of the highly acclaimed Waterlog and Wildwood. He lived in Suffolk, and died there in August 2006, aged 63.
show more

Rating details

640 ratings
4.32 out of 5 stars
5 49% (315)
4 36% (233)
3 12% (79)
2 1% (8)
1 1% (5)

Our customer reviews

I knew nothing of Roger Deakin before I read this book. I'd seen it briefly recommended on "First Tuesday Book Club" and bought it on the offchance it would be a good read. It was brilliant. Such beautiful words, diary entries throughout different times in his life at Walnut Tree Farm. My only regret is that I didn't discover him sooner, as he passed away in 2006, and I would have loved to have written him a letter to tell him just how marvellous he is. Bless you Roger Deakin. I adore you.show more
by Sandra Fox
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X