Not the Killing Type

Not the Killing Type

3.84 (1,826 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"New York Times" bestselling author of "Murder on the Half Shelf "Lorna Barrett delivers another compulsively page-turning Booktown Mystery in which amateur sleuth and bookstore owner Tricia Miles gets caught up in a local election that turns lethal... It's November in Stoneham, New Hampshire, and that means it's time for the Chamber of Commerce elections. The race is already a bit heated, as the long-standing Chamber president is being challenged by a former lover--Tricia's own sister, Angelica. Then local small business owner Stan Berry throws his hat in the ring. Unfortunately, it's not there for long when he's found murdered in the Brookview Inn. The murder weapon is a brass letter opener belonging to the inn's receptionist. Tricia knows there's no way the receptionist is a killer. And when Angelica asks Tricia to help clear her name and win the election, she sees little choice except to start snooping. She soon uncovers a ballot box full of lies and betrayals, and a chamber full of people who had grudges against the victim. But were they serious enough to lead to murder? And who truly had something to gain? Tricia will have to do some serious sleuthing before she pulls the lever on a killer. INCLUDES RECIPESshow more

Product details

  • Hardback | 309 pages
  • 138 x 204 x 30mm | 359.99g
  • Berkley Publishing Group
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0425252221
  • 9780425252222
  • 921,712

About Lorna Barrett

Lorna Barrett is the "New York Times "bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries including such titles as "Chapter and Hearse, ""Bookmarked for Death," and "Murder on the Half Shelf."show more

Review quote

Praise for the "New York Times "Bestselling Booktown Mysteries "Fans of Carolyn Hart and Denise Swanson, rejoice!...This first-rate cozy artfully blends crime, cuisine, and even bookselling in a cheerful, witty, well-plotted puzzler."--Julia Spencer-Fleming, Edgar"(R)" finalist and author of "One Was a Soldier" "Lorna Barrett's new cozy creation...has it all: wonderful old books, quirky characters, a clever mystery, and a cat named Miss Marple!"--Roberta Isleib, author of "Asking for Murder" "A mystery bookstore in a sleepy New England town, a cat named Miss Marple, a nasty murder, and a determined heroine make Barrett's delightful debut mystery everything a cozy lover could want and more. Bravo!"--Leann Sweeney, author of "The Cat, the Mill, and the Murder" "Barrett is skilled at making her characters flawed and fully believable."--"Richmond Times-Dispatch" "Tightly plotted and paced to keep you turning the pages, this series is indeed getting better with each book."--"Gumshoe Review" "Charming...An engaging whodunit."--"Publishers Weekly" "Sheer entertainment. A good rollicking read."--"Roundtable Reviews"show more

Rating details

1,826 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 25% (465)
4 41% (750)
3 27% (497)
2 5% (89)
1 1% (25)

Our customer reviews

This latest installment in theBooktown mystery series is another wonderful adventure for Tricia and her sister Angelica. I love the twists and turns in this story and can not wait for the next book to come out! Such a wonderful series and well worth the read!show more
by Karenmomofthree
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X