Norman the Slug with a Silly Shell
15%
off

Norman the Slug with a Silly Shell

3.84 (321 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The fabulous new character from Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet, the bestselling, award-winning creators of Barry the Fish with Fingers, I Need a Wee and Supertato!

Norman the Slug is looking for a perfect shell-but can he find his match? Find out in this "fantastically bold and fun picture book that will teach children the importance of accepting who you are" (Junior News and Mail).

Norman is a slug who longs to be a snail-if only he could find the perfect shell! He tries a tennis ball, an apple, and even an alarm clock but none of them feels quite right. Until one day, Norman stumbles upon a doughnut! What could be better than that? But is that sweet shell really the perfect fit?

Perfect for fans of Oi Frog!

Praise for Supertato:
'Hilarious... One of the funniest picture books this year - read it and laugh out loud!' Creative Steps Magazine
'Hendra introduces another very silly but irresistible creation in the grand tradition of Barry, Norman, Keith et al.' Bookseller

Praise for Norman the Slug with the Silly Shell:
'Lovely glittery illustrations and simple text make this a must for pre-schoolers' The Daily Mail

Praise for No-Bot the Robot with No Bottom:
'Fabulously funny and wonderfully warm' Liverpool Echo
'Fans of Barry, Norman and Keith will absolutely adore this new wonderfully eccentric new character' Mumsnet
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 32 pages
  • 260 x 260 x 4mm | 197g
  • Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Full colour
  • 1847389767
  • 9781847389763
  • 15,838

Review quote

This is a silly, funny story which young readers will love. * Carousel * Norman's antics are superbly illustrated in a bold, decorative style and the story carefully crafted to build anticipation and humour. * Books for Keeps * A fantastically bold and fun picture book that will teach children the importance of accepting who you are. * Junior News and Mail * Lovely glittery illustrations and simple text make this a must for pre-schoolers. * The Daily Mail * With similarly bold illustration, eye-catching cover and simple text [as Barry the Fish with Fingers] this has the potential to be another hit. * The Bookseller *
show more

About Sue Hendra

Sue Hendra grew up in Wimbledon and has always loved making up stories and drawing pictures. Her favourite book as a child was Mr. Silly. She graduated from Brighton University in 1994 and has been creating picture books ever since. In 2006 she met Paul Linnet and could instantly see that she'd met a fellow nitwit who liked talking nonsense. They went on to create many bestselling books together, working in a small room in their house in Brighton. Sue loves swimming, and can swim up and down for a very long time. Her favourite book is still Mr. Silly. Sue Hendra studied illustration at university and also sold doughnuts from a kiosk at the zoo. The illustration career won and she has now illustrated around 100 books. When she met Paul Linnet she found another twit with a silly sense of humour so they fell in love and started writing and illustrating together and came up with bestsellers such as Barry the Fish with Fingers, Norman the Slug with the Silly Shell, and Supertato. It seems that others enjoy their frankly ridiculous stories and they have won prizes and all sorts. Sue and Paul live in an untidy and half decorated house in the seaside town of Brighton. They have a daughter called Wanda who is perfect in every way possible. Sue is pretty good at swimming and Paul likes to ride around on an old motorbike that he's fussed about with.
show more

Rating details

321 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 25% (80)
4 42% (136)
3 26% (83)
2 6% (19)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X