Nora & Kettle

Nora & Kettle

4.07 (1,368 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Book Thief will love this startling and heart-warming take on Peter Pan.

What if Peter Pan was a homeless kid just trying to survive, and Wendy flew away for a really good reason?

Seventeen-year-old Kettle has had his share of adversity. As an orphaned Japanese American struggling to make a life in the aftermath of an event in history not often referred to--the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II and the removal of children from orphanages for having "one drop of Japanese blood in them"--things are finally looking up. He has his hideout in an abandoned subway tunnel, a job, and his gang of Lost Boys.

Desperate to run away, the world outside her oppressive brownstone calls to naïve, eighteen-year-old Nora--the privileged daughter of a controlling and violent civil rights lawyer who is building a compensation case for the interned Japanese Americans. But she is trapped, enduring abuse to protect her younger sister Frankie and wishing on the stars every night for things to change.

For months, they've lived side by side, their paths crossing yet never meeting. But when Nora is nearly killed and her sister taken away, their worlds collide as Kettle, grief stricken at the loss of a friend, angrily pulls Nora from her window.

In her honeyed eyes, Kettle sees sadness and suffering. In his, Nora sees the chance to take to the window and fly away.



Set in 1953, NORA AND KETTLE explores the collision of two teenagers facing extraordinary hardship. Their meeting is inevitable, devastating, and ultimately healing. Their stories, a collection of events, are each on their own harmless. But together, one after the other, they change the world.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 132 x 200 x 66mm | 306g
  • United States
  • English
  • 1634221354
  • 9781634221351
  • 339,341

Review quote

"Teens Nora and Kettle endure hardships while leading two different lives in 1950s America. She lives in a brownstone; he, on the streets. But, at their very cores, they share a common need: survival. Nora lives in constant fear and has the bruises to prove it. She'll do anything to protect her younger sister, Frankie, from their abusive father, ironically a civil rights attorney. When Nora's mother dies after a fall, Nora's last fragment of security is shattered. Kettle, an orphan and part Japanese-American, must deal with attitudes fresh from World War II that still believe he's the enemy. He and his best friend--practically a brother--Kin, both Japanese-American internment-camp detainees, now take care of the Kings, a group of homeless boys (and one girl), who proudly rename themselves with K names. Endearingly loyal and responsible, Kettle works dangerous dock jobs to pay for groceries, toothbrushes, and Slinkys for his Kings. An act of purging finally brings Nora and Kettle together. Although it takes a while (the book's middle) before these two lost souls meet, their chemistry becomes palpable and gives the narrative a good jolt. Kettle's camp flashbacks feel short and in need of deepening to reflect his injustice; in contrast, Nora's violent encounters with her father, written with care, grip the heart. A complicated, unlikely friendship with an ending that feels simplified." -- Kirkus Reviews
show more

About Lauren Nicolle Taylor

Lauren Nicolle Taylor is the bestselling author of THE WOODLANDS SERIES and the award-winning YA novel NORA & KETTLE (Gold medal Winner for Multicultural fiction, Independent Publishers Book Awards 2017). NORA & KETTLE received a starred review from Booklist magazine. She has a Health Science degree and an honors degree in Obstetrics and Gynecology. She is a proud Hapa, living in the lush hamlet of the Adelaide hills with her husband and three children.
show more

Rating details

1,368 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 38% (523)
4 39% (532)
3 17% (227)
2 5% (71)
1 1% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X