Nophek Gloss

Nophek Gloss : The exceptional, thrilling space opera debut

3.7 (696 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'AN EXCEPTIONAL DEBUT . . . READS LIKE A BECKY CHAMBERS NOVEL CROSSED WITH FIREFLY' Michael Mammay, author of Planetside

'A SUCKER PUNCH TO THE SENSES . . . A KILLER STORY WITH REAL HEART AND SOUL' Alastair Reynolds

In this dark, dangerous, roller coaster of a debut, a young man sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across a breathtaking multiverse filled with aliens, mind-bending tech, and ships beyond his wildest imagining. Essa Hansen's is a bold new voice for the next generation of science fiction readers.

Caiden's planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

From one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction comes Nophek Gloss - an action-packed space adventure perfect for fans of Star Wars, Children of Time and The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet.

*Finalist for r/Fantasy Stabby Awards for Best Debut!*

One of the most highly praised science fiction debuts of the year:

'Gripping and inventive, Nophek Gloss will delight even as it breaks your heart' Megan E. O'Keefe, award-winning author of Velocity Weapon

'A strong, rollercoaster of a debut' Gareth L. Powell, author of The Embers of War

'Bursting with strange characters and powerful SF action' Rob Boffard, author of Adrift

'This is space opera firing on all cylinders, and a must-read' Jeremy Szal, author of Stormblood
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 126 x 198 x 32mm | 302g
  • ORBIT
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356515583
  • 9780356515588
  • 284,310

Review quote

An exceptional debut - one of the best I've read in years. The sheer imagination in this book is staggering . . . Reads like a Becky Chambers novel crossed with Firefly . . . With her first novel, Essa Hansen establishes herself as a force in the world of science fiction -- Michael Mammay, author of PLANETSIDE Nophek Gloss is a sucker-punch to the senses, a delicious and delirious head-trip into an intricate, vivid and psychedelic cosmos of nested universes, exotic tech and gorgeously strange characters. Best of all, though, it's wrapped around a killer story with real heart and soul. -- Alastair Reynolds, author of REVENGER Gripping and inventive, NOPHEK GLOSS will delight even as it breaks your heart -- Megan E. O'Keefe, award-winning author of VELOCITY WEAPON A compelling sf story that will draw in and hold readers until the very last page ... Hansen's marvellous debut is a fast-paced, action-filled ride through the multiverse, introducing a complex found family of gender- and neurodiverse characters. * LIBRARY JOURNAL * A far-flung kaleidoscope of stunning imagination, superb characters and truly alien aliens. This is space opera firing on all cylinders, and a must-read -- Jeremy Szal, author of STORMBLOOD Bursting with strange characters and powerful SF action * Rob Boffard, author of ADRIFT * A revenge plot leads mechanic Caiden across a multiverse populated by a colourful array of humanoid species in Hansen's wonderfully inventive debut . . . Space opera fans will be eager for the next instalment * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY * A strong, rollercoaster of a debut -- Gareth L. Powell, author of THE EMBERS OF WAR The Graven Trilogy kicks off with heart-rending loss, traumatic memories, fast-paced action, and stunning scientific concepts, with mercantile and political intrigues spanning manifold universes. Fans of Alastair Reynolds and Megan E. O'Keefe will want to try this * BOOKLIST * Hard science fiction at its best, flush with rich themes and sharp innovation . . . Plus, this book is just so damn COOL * FANTASY BOOK REVIEW * Fans of novels by Chambers, Scalzi, Szal or Tchaikovsky will love Nophek Gloss * JAKE IS READING *
show more

About Essa Hansen

Essa Hansen is an author, swordswoman, and falconer. She is a sound designer for science fiction and fantasy films at Skywalker Sound, with credits in movies such as Dr. Strange and Avengers: Endgame.
show more

Rating details

696 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 27% (188)
4 34% (239)
3 25% (171)
2 10% (68)
1 4% (30)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X