The Non-Cycle Mystery Plays

The Non-Cycle Mystery Plays : Together with 'The Croxton Play of the Sacrament' and 'The Pride of Life'

Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Between the beginning of the tenth and the end of the sixteenth centuries, in all parts of Great Britain from Aberdeen to Cornwall, performances of liturgical and mystery plays are on record. This book, first published in 1909, is a collection of early-English religious plays with a detailed introduction written by the editor Osborn Waterhouse. The Non-Cycle Mystery Plays will be of interest to students of drama, performance and theatre more

Product details

  • Hardback | 190 pages
  • 139.7 x 215.9 x 19.05mm | 340.19g
  • Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1138920150
  • 9781138920156

Table of contents

Introduction; 1. General 2. Liturgical Plays (Shrewsbury Fragments) 3. Non-Cycle Mystery Plays 4. Croxton Play of the Sacrament 5. The Pride of Life; Text; 1. Officium Pastorum (Shrewsbury Fragments) 2. Officium Resurrectionis (Shrewsbury Fragments) 3. Officium Peregrinorum (Shrewsbury Fragments) 4. Creation of Eve and the Fall (Norwich) 5. Noah's Ship (Newcastle) 6. Abraham's Sacrifice (Dublin) 7. Abraham's Sacrifice (Brome) 8. The Play of the Sacrament (Croxton) 9. The Pride of Life; Index of Persons and Places; Glossaryshow more