Nocturna
16%
off

Nocturna

3.59 (1,961 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fates collide and darkness is unleashed in this lush, own-voices Latin-inspired fantasy, perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo and V. E. Schwab.

Magia Para Todos; Magic for all.

To Finnian Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the throat of anyone who crosses her, and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, it's been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that's exactly how she likes it. But when she gets caught by a powerful mobster, she's forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan's royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.

To Prince Alfehr magic is an escape, but one that comes with a price. First in line for the throne after the disappearance of his older brother, Alfie is desperate to find him and bring him home, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.

And when Finn and Alfie's fates collide, they realise magic can be other things too, and the type they accidentally release into the world is something neither expects, or understands.

It's hungry.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 154 x 232 x 39mm | 577g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473675928
  • 9781473675926
  • 1,309,102

Review Text

Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes or VE Schwab's A Darker Shade of Magic, Nocturna similarly delivers a richly-imagined world steeped in magic and adventure and it deserves to be embraced by fans of YA fantasy the world over CultureFly
show more

Review quote

A gripping story of unlikely partners and dark magic * Candid Cover * Utterly amazing . . . The world Maya created is unique and rich, and her vivid take on magic absolutely blew me away. It is so individual and beautiful, a step above the magic we see in so many YA books. Maya's lyrical writing and world-building were reminiscent of Laini Taylor. * Midnight Book Girl * Nocturna is an exciting debut presenting a unique magic system that is as powerful and flawed as the characters who are granted its usage * British Fantasy Society * Singular and special . . . Cinematic, plentiful action as well as intriguing protagonists will pull many a fantasy reader, and the richly detailed world will keep them reading * Booklist * Fantasy fans will embrace the creative worldbuilding and welcome these flawed and multi-layered characters into their hearts' * Cinda Williams Chima, NYT bestselling author * This searing, magical Latinx-inspired fantasy pulled me in from the first page and did not let me go. I loved adventuring with brave Alfie and brash Finn, and I held my breath until the end. NOCTURNA is a magnificent debut, powerful and true * Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns * An interesting premise, likable characters, and high adventure * Kirkus Reviews * An exhilarating adventure, bursting with lively, inventive magic and characters who charmed me the instant they appeared on the page. If you want to get swept up in a story, pick this one * NYT bestselling author Margaret Rogerson * This fantasy set in a Latinx kingdom explores the lasting effects of childhood trauma, the destructive potential of grief, and the redemptive power of love . . . the stakes are high, Finn and Alfie's reluctant attraction rings true, and a gratifying conclusion paves the way for book two. * Publishers Weekly * Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes or VE Schwab's A Darker Shade of Magic, Nocturna similarly delivers a richly-imagined world steeped in magic and adventure and it deserves to be embraced by fans of YA fantasy the world over * CultureFly *
show more

About Maya Motayne

Maya Motayne previously worked as an editorial assistant at Penguin Random House US and is passionate about bringing diverse stories to the forefront of young adult literature. She helped found the Random House Children's Books Diversity Committee. Nocturna is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

1,961 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 21% (417)
4 34% (671)
3 31% (604)
2 10% (198)
1 4% (71)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X