Nobody's Victim
19%
off

Nobody's Victim : Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls

4.18 (527 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Contributions by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

'A rallying cry for privacy justice . . . chilling . . . take-no-prisoners and warmly gregarious' New York Times

'We need more warriors like Carrie' Tarana Burke, founder of the MeToo movement

'In the age of doxxing, revenge porn, and misogynist trolls, this book is required reading. . . . In telling these wrenching stories, Goldberg gives voice to the legions who have experienced unthinkable violence' Esquire, Best Books of Summer 2019

Nobody's Victim is an unflinching look at a hidden world most people don't know exists-one of stalking, blackmail, and sexual violence, online and off-and the incredible story of how one lawyer, determined to fight back, turned her own hell into a revolution.

Nobody's Victim invites readers to join Carrie Goldberg on the front lines of the war against sexual violence and privacy violations as her law firm sues the hell out of tech companies, schools, and sexual predators. Her battleground is the courtroom; her crusade is to transform clients from victims into warriors.

In gripping detail, Carrie shares the diabolical ways her clients are attacked and how she, through her unique combination of relentless advocacy, badass risk-taking, and unique client-empowerment, pursues justice for them all. There is the ex-boyfriend who made fake bomb threats in a client's name, causing a national panic; the girl who was sexually assaulted on school grounds and then suspended when she reported the attack; and the guy who used a dating app to send more than 1,200 men to his ex's home and office for sex. Carrie also shares her own shattering story about why she began her work and became the lawyer she needed.

Riveting and essential, Nobody's Victim is a bold and timely analysis of victim protection in the era of the Internet. This book is an urgent warning of a coming crisis, a predictor of imminent danger, and a weapon to take back control and protect ourselves-both online and off.

*Perfect for fans of She Said by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker and The Good Fight*
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 158 x 236 x 32mm | 540g
  • Virago Press Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0349012792
  • 9780349012797
  • 351,827

Review quote

Carrie Goldberg turned litigation into an act of protest. The formidable US lawyer has helped countless women in the fight against gendered violence, online stalking and revenge porn -- B. Cartmell * Huck Magazine * After grappling with a 'psycho ex' of her own, lawyer Carrie Goldberg takes a stand for victims of online harassment, deepfakes and revenge porn -- Tauriq Moosa * Guardian * Compelling and terrifying stories of assaults both physical and psychological . . . She believes that the MeToo movement has brought about a significant shift for victims of sexual assault and harassment -- Jane Mulkerrins * The Times * A timely, necessary and uniquely authoritative book about the modern-day scourges of on-line harassment, stalking, sextortion, and non-consensual porn - and how to fight them. Goldberg's book is also a strikingly honest memoir and a riveting read. The stories she tells illuminate real horrors, as well as real bravery - her own and that of the people she represents -- Margaret Talbot * New Yorker * Carrie Goldberg is a warrior against trolls and misogynists, as she bravely details in Nobody's Victim. The experiences of Carrie's clients may boil your blood--but beneath these known statistics is the reality that most harassment remains unseen, unreported, and legal. Nobody's Victim is a call to arms against abusers, and a reminder that survivors of gendered violence are not alone in their fight -- Audrey Gelman, CEO and Co-Founder of The Wing Nobody's Victim provides the raw honesty that we desperately need as we examine how the Internet age has upended everyday life. Only Carrie Goldberg could tell this powerful, compelling, and lucid story, which gives voice to so many people who have experienced unimaginable harms. As policymakers debate how to make the Internet--and the world--a safer place, I hope that Nobody's Victim will be at the top of their reading list -- Jeff Kosseff, author, The Twenty-Six Words That Created the Internet Thoroughly researched and with shocking anecdotes from Carrie and her clients, Nobody's Victim is an indispensable work for anyone who wants to understand how we got here and, more importantly, what we need to do to fight back. Part memoir and part manifesto, Nobody's Victim is thoughtful, urgent and impossible to put down -- Nancy Jo Sales, author of New York Times bestseller American Girls: Social Media and the Secret Life of Teenagers and director of HBO's Swiped: Hooking up in the Digital Age This is an illuminating and significant window into the present state of victims' rights and a potentially powerful resource for readers dealing with abuse or harassment * Publishers Weekly * In the age of doxxing, revenge porn, and misogynist trolls, this book is required reading. . . . In telling these wrenching stories, Goldberg gives voice to the legions who have experienced unthinkable violence * Esquire, Best Books of Summer 2019 * In her memoir doubling as a rallying cry for privacy justice Nobody's Victim Goldberg admits that as with many people who have endured sexual harassment, it took time to tell her story in full, which she does now in chilling detail . . . Goldberg builds a convincing case that sexual privacy is a right that should be protected by federal law, much in the way that our personal, financial and medical information already is. If anyone can make that happen, it is she . . . Goldberg chronicles her battle for justice in a tone that is both take-no-prisoners and warmly gregarious . . . The cases she narrates are gut-wrenching, and her conversational approach lightens what could otherwise be an unbearably heavy load. It also makes accessible the complicated legal history leading to our current moment. -- Kate Bolick * New York Times * We need more warriors like Carrie using the law to help take down sexual predators and the institutions that protect them -- Tarana Burke, founder of the #MeToo movement
show more

About Carrie Goldberg

Carrie Goldberg is a victims' rights lawyer in Brooklyn, litigating for victims of stalking, sexual assault, and blackmail. Before becoming a lawyer, Carrie spent five years working for Nazi victims, and prior to starting her firm in 2014, she worked at the Vera Institute of Justice in New York City. She has been profiled in The New Yorker, The Times (London), Glamour, Jezebel, and the New York Post, and has written op-eds for The Washington Post and The Huffington Post. Her major litigations include Herrick v. Grindr, NNAF v. John Doe, Hadley v. City of Anaheim, Anonymous v. NYC DOE, and Jane Doe 1-14 v. GirlsDoPorn.com, et al. She was featured in the documentary Netizens, and her life and work is the basis for an upcoming, fictional legal procedural television show.
show more

Rating details

527 ratings
4.18 out of 5 stars
5 44% (233)
4 37% (197)
3 14% (73)
2 2% (8)
1 3% (16)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X