The Noble Assassin

The Noble Assassin

3.01 (72 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A thrilling account of one of English history's most daring women, who risked everything in the dark days leading up to the Civil War. The perfect novel for fans of Suzannah Dunn and Phillipa Gregory.


Court beauty, Lucy Russell, Countess of Bedford, feels frustrated by life with her weak husband. Poverty stricken, they are confined to their country estate and excluded from court life in London after he disastrously allies himself against Elizabeth I.


Now, some years later, James I is seated on the English throne. His daughter, Elizabeth Stuart, former confidant of Lucy, has married the King of Bohemia. The precarious political situation in Europe is fraught, setting father against daughter. When Elizabeth and her husband are deposed, exiled and forced on the run, James is in no mood to come to Elizabeth's aid.


Hearing of Elizabeth's predicament, Lucy sees an opportunity to re-establish the Bedford name and offers herself as a peace envoy between the two parties. Setting out on a daring mission across the channel, Lucy discovers she is being manipulated by unscrupulous men, not least the calculating and darkly handsome Duke of Buckingham.


Can Lucy tread this most dangerous path, or by risking everything, will she pay the ultimate price?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 25mm | 290g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • UK ed.
  • 0007289138
  • 9780007289134
  • 540,035

Review quote

Praise for The Principessa


`The perfect companion for long autumn evenings. It's an absorbing historical adventure...a satisfyingly intricate plot' First


`This is a fabulous read. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical adventure and intrigue, twists and turns but also to those who revel in a poignant and powerful love story. There's something for everyone and what's more, it's beautifully written. What more could anyone ask? I cannot for the life of me understand why Christie Dickason's novels are not better known and appreciated. It's high time.' Historical Novels Review


Praise for The Firemaster's Mistress:


`A rich mix of romance, suspense, adventure and lightly-worn knowledge. Gunpowder, treason and plot have never been so entertaining.' Kate Saunders, The Times


`Atmospheric and impressively researched, it is highly entertaining.' Elizabeth Buchan, Sunday Times


`The Firemaster's Mistress is that rare historical novel: utterly congruent with history and successful as a work of fiction. It tells the story of an engaging man betrayed both by his own honour and his love for a Roman Catholic woman. His skills with explosives lead him into the very heart of the conspiracy, walking a difficult line with plotters, spymasters, and his own fears. The England of James I is magnificently evoked in this engaging novel.' Philippa Gregory
show more

About Christie Dickason

Christie Dickason was born in America but lived as a child in Thailand, Mexico and Switzerland. Harvard-educated (followed by Yale), Christie worked as a former theatre director and choreographer in England, with the Royal Shakespeare Company and at Ronnie Scott's, among others. She now counts London as her home, having lived there much longer than anywhere else.
show more

Rating details

72 ratings
3.01 out of 5 stars
5 8% (6)
4 24% (17)
3 33% (24)
2 31% (22)
1 4% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X