No Parking at the End Times
28%
off

No Parking at the End Times

3.27 (1,038 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And--of course--it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail's parents never should have made that first donation to that end-of-times preacher. Or the next, or the next. They shouldn't have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there for the "end of the world." Because now they're living in their van. And Aaron is full of anger, disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right.

But maybe it's too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss's thoughtful debut novel is about losing everything--and about what you will do for the people you love.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 257 pages
  • 134.62 x 213.36 x 27.94mm | 385.55g
  • Greenwillow Books
  • English
  • 0062275410
  • 9780062275417
  • 1,236,298

Back cover copy

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end.
But it didn't.
Of course it didn't.

Now they are living in their van on the streets of San Francisco, three thousand miles away from home. They hop from soup kitchen to church for their meals. They wash up in public bathrooms. They move the van to a new parking spot when the cops bang on the window. And Abigail's twin brother, Aaron, sneaks out every night, full of anger, to go who-knows-where.

That's what's normal now.

But Abigail can change it, can't she? Even if her parents are making mistake after mistake, she can keep her family from falling apart. She can save them.

Or is it time simply to save herself?
show more

Review quote

Bliss s debut explores family, sacrifice, and the power of everyday faith with a deft and sensitive hand. --Horn Book Magazine"
show more

Rating details

1,038 ratings
3.27 out of 5 stars
5 15% (152)
4 26% (270)
3 37% (380)
2 18% (188)
1 5% (48)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X