Ninth City Burning

Ninth City Burning

3.58 (1,390 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$27.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

For fans of Red Rising, Starship Troopers, and Ender's Game comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut... We never saw them coming.a Entire cities disappeared in the blink of an eye, leaving nothing but dust and rubble. When an alien race came to make Earth theirs, they brought with them a weapon we had no way to fight, a universe-altering force known as thelemity. It seemed nothing could stop it-until we discovered we could wield the power too. Five hundred years later, the Earth is locked in a grinding war of attrition. The talented few capable of bending thelemity to their will are trained in elite military academies, destined for the front lines. Those who refused to support the war have been exiled to the wilds of a ruined Earth. But the enemy's tactics are changing, and Earth's defenders are about to discover this centuries-old war has only just begun. As a terrible new onslaught looms, heroes will rise from unlikely quarters, and fight back.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 496 pages
  • 163 x 234 x 39mm | 716g
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 1101991445
  • 9781101991442
  • 2,388,190

Review quote

Praise for Ninth City Burning

"Grabbed my attention from the first page--fresh and un-put-downable. An intriguing cocktail of science fiction, fantasy, and military adventure stirred into something new and satisfying."--Patricia Briggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fire Touched "A finely crafted and original science-fantasy epic full of wonder and spectacle. Highly recommended."--Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Waking Fire "Ninth City Burning is simultaneously an epic fantasy, a science fiction adventure, a coming of age story, and a delight." --Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of A Red Rose Chain "Fans of Ender, Harry Potter, Starship Troopers, and manga-style armored mobile suits will find Black's debut the perfect ticket to a fantastic new world...This thrilling kickoff to an action-packed series will appeal to those who enjoy science fiction mixed with fantasy." -Booklist "Black is a fresh new voice who pays respect to the classics of SF in this enjoyable adventure debut...Given this strong foundation, readers can expect more thrilling adventures from this new author."--Publishers Weekly "Ninth City Burning is an intense, complex, engrossing story, a tale of multiple lives intersecting... Fans of both fantasy and science-fiction will want to keep an eye out for the next, and the next... "--Jean Johnson, national bestselling author of The Terrans
show more

About J. Patrick Black

J. Patrick Black lives near Boston. He is at work on his next novel.
show more

Rating details

1,390 ratings
3.58 out of 5 stars
5 19% (263)
4 38% (530)
3 30% (411)
2 9% (127)
1 4% (59)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X