The Nine Tailors
5%
off

The Nine Tailors : Lord Peter Wimsey Book 11

4.05 (13,599 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily Telegraph

When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.

The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.

'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 131 x 198 x 21mm | 268g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Mit Abb.
  • 1473621399
  • 9781473621398
  • 57,186

Review quote

I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail. - Ruth Rendell

She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller. - Minette Walters

Dorothy L Sayers is one of the best detective story writers - Daily Telegraph
show more

About Dorothy L. Sayers

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

www.sayers.org.uk
show more

Rating details

13,599 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 38% (5,101)
4 38% (5,116)
3 19% (2,650)
2 4% (557)
1 1% (175)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X