Nina is Not OK
19%
off

Nina is Not OK

4.28 (1,480 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn't? Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina's almost an adult after all. And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend. But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her... A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 126 x 198 x 22mm | 239g
  • Ebury Publishing
  • Ebury Press
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1785031376
  • 9781785031373
  • 65,883

Review quote

"Shappi Khorsandi is both funny and shocking, yet above all writes with warmth, giving Nina an intelligent voice. This girl could be you, or your daughter, or your friend, and I defy anyone not to love the endearing, messed-up Nina as she finds her way out of an alcohol-fuelled hell of her own making." * Daily Mail * "dark and funny...brilliant" * Simon Mayo * "It's absolutely bloody magnificent" -- Marian Keyes "Breathtakingly honest and laugh-out-loud funny... perfectly captures the anxieties of youth" * Red Magazine * "Khorsandi pulls no punches in her first novel...Equal parts straight-talking, funny and worrying, this is a coming-of-age tale rebooted for the era of social media and slut-shaming." * Glamour Magazine *show more

About Shappi Khorsandi

Shappi Khorsandi is one of the country's finest comedians, having launched herself back in 2006 with her sell out Edinburgh show, Asylum Speaker. Shappi's career has taken her to all corners of the globe, she has appeared on countless TV & Radio shows including; Live At The Apollo, 8 Out Of 10 Cats, Have I Got News For You, QI, The Graham Norton Show and Friday Night with Jonathan Ross. She is the author of the bestselling childhood memoir, A Beginner's Guide To Acting English which tells the story of how her family were forced to flee Iran and gain asylum in the UK. Nina is Not OK is her first novel.show more

Review Text

"Shappi Khorsandi is both funny and shocking, yet above all writes with warmth, giving Nina an intelligent voice. This girl could be you, or your daughter, or your friend, and I defy anyone not to love the endearing, messed-up Nina as she finds her way out of an alcohol-fuelled hell of her own making."show more

Back cover copy

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesnât? Ninaâs mum isnât so sure. But sheâs busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Ninaâs almost an adult after all. And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Ninaâs drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend. But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends canât help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her⦠A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UKâs leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.show more

Rating details

1,480 ratings
4.28 out of 5 stars
5 47% (690)
4 39% (572)
3 12% (175)
2 2% (32)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X