The Night Strangers

The Night Strangers : A Novel

3.15 (14,138 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

From the bestselling author of The Double Bind, Skeletons at the Feast, andSecrets of Eden, comes a riveting and dramatic ghost story.

In a dusty corner of a basement in a rambling Victorian house in northern New Hampshire, a door has long been sealed shut with 39 six-inch-long carriage bolts.

The home's new owners are Chip and Emily Linton and their twin ten-year-old daughters. Together they hope to rebuild their lives there after Chip, an airline pilot, has to ditch his 70-seat regional jet in Lake Champlain after double engine failure. Unlike the Miracle on the Hudson, however, most of the passengers aboard Flight 1611 die on impact or drown. The body count? Thirty-nine – a coincidence not lost on Chip when he discovers the number of bolts in that basement door. Meanwhile, Emily finds herself wondering about the women in this sparsely populated White Mountain village – self-proclaimed herbalists – and their interest in her fifth-grade daughters. Are the women mad? Or is it her husband, in the wake of the tragedy, whose grip on sanity has become desperately tenuous?

The result is a poignant and powerful ghost story with all the hallmarks readers have come to expect from bestselling novelist Chris Bohjalian: a palpable sense of place, an unerring sense of the demons that drive us, and characters we care about deeply.

The difference this time? Some of those characters are dead.


From the Hardcover edition.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 543 pages
  • 157.48 x 231.14 x 33.02mm | 476.27g
  • Random House Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • Large type / large print edition
  • 0739378368
  • 9780739378366
  • 1,597,048

Review quote

"A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel."--"Booklist, " Starred Review
"Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones" and Margaret Atwood's "Cat's Eye" and "The Robber Bride" will find similar appeal here."--"Library Journal, "Starred Review
"Compelling. . .a practical "magick" horror story."--"Kirkus"
"A gripping paranormal thriller. . .Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride."--"Publishers Weekly"
"Put a haunted man in a haunted house. . .and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand."--"Yankee Magazine"
show more

About Chris Bohjalian

CHRIS BOHJALIAN is the critically acclaimed author of fourteen books, including the "New York Times" bestsellers "The Double Bind, ""Secrets of Eden, " and "Skeletons at the Feast." His novel, "Midwives," was a number one "New York Times" bestseller and a selection of Oprah's Book Club. His work has been translated into more than twenty-five languages and two of his novels have become movies ("Midwives" and "Past the Bleachers"). He lives in Vermont with his wife and daughter. "From the Hardcover edition."
show more

Rating details

14,138 ratings
3.15 out of 5 stars
5 12% (1,627)
4 27% (3,785)
3 35% (5,017)
2 19% (2,638)
1 8% (1,071)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X