The Night Strangers

The Night Strangers

3.18 (16,767 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Product details

  • Hardback | 378 pages
  • 163 x 237 x 33mm | 621g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0307394999
  • 9780307394996
  • 1,593,828

Review quote

"Riveting. . .seamless. . .a hell of a good ghost story."--Justin Cronin, author of "The Passage"
"The Night Strangers boasts all the trappings of a classic Gothic horror story, reminiscent in places of the spousal secrets in Nathaniel Hawthorne's 'Young Goodman Brown, ' the thrills of 'Rosemary's Baby, ' and the psychological frights of Daphne du Maurier. . .A perfect book for Halloween. . .That thump thump you hear as you read is only your heart leaping from your chest."--Keith Donohue, "Washington Post"
"Shades of "The Shining "make for a haunting tale. . .A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over."--"Family Circle
"
"After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won't leave them alone. Good 'n' spooky.""--Good Housekeeping"
"Put a haunted man in a haunted house. . .and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand."--"Yankee Magazine"
"A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel."--"Booklist, " Starred Review
"Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones" and Margaret Atwood's "Cat's Eye" and "The Robber Bride" will find similar appeal here."--"Library Journal, "Starred Review
"Compelling. . .a practical "magick" horror story."--"Kirkus Reviews"
"A gripping paranormal thriller. . .Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride."--"Publishers Weekly
"
"A delicious and haunting tale. . .Bohjalian is a terrific writer and parsimonious in the way he issues informatio
show more

About Chris Bohjalian

CHRIS BOHJALIAN is the critically acclaimed author of fourteen books, including the "New York Times" bestsellers "The Double Bind, ""Secrets of Eden, " and "Skeletons at the Feast." His novel, "Midwives," was a number one "New York Times" bestseller and a selection of Oprah's Book Club. His work has been translated into more than twenty-five languages and two of his novels have become movies ("Midwives" and "Past the Bleachers"). He lives in Vermont with his wife and daughter.
show more

Rating details

16,767 ratings
3.18 out of 5 stars
5 12% (1,982)
4 27% (4,516)
3 36% (5,971)
2 18% (3,063)
1 7% (1,235)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X