Night of Miracles
22%
off

Night of Miracles

4.21 (348 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The feel-good book of the year: a delightful novel of friendship, community, and the way small acts of kindness can change your life, by the bestselling author of The Story of Arthur Truluv Lucille Howard is getting on in years, but she stays busy. Thanks to the inspiration of her dearly departed friend Arthur Truluv, she has begun to teach baking classes, sharing the secrets to her delicious classic Southern yellow cake, the perfect pinwheel cookies, and other sweet essentials. Her classes have become so popular that she's hired Iris, a new resident of Mason, Missouri, as an assistant. Iris doesn't know how to bake but she needs to keep her mind off a big decision she sorely regrets. When a new family moves in next door and tragedy strikes, Lucille begins to look out for Lincoln, their son. Lincoln's parents aren't the only ones in town facing hard choices and uncertain futures. In these difficult times, the residents of Mason come together and find the true power of community--just when they need it the most. "Elizabeth Berg's characters jump right off the page and into your heart" said Fannie Flagg about The Story of Arthur Truluv. The same could be said about Night of Miracles, a heartwarming novel that reminds us that the people we come to love are often the ones we don't expect. Advance praise for Night of Miracles "Elizabeth Berg is a master storyteller and one of my personal favorites. Night of Miracles is full of charming, entertaining characters that tug at the heart."--Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"The thing about an Elizabeth Berg novel is, it'll always make you feel hopeful. True to form, Night of Miracles is wise and funny, not shying away from life's troubles but spotlighting the shining small miracles and pleasures of ordinary days. And, of course, there are delicious cakes."--Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Save Us
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 139.7 x 209.55 x 30mm | 567g
  • English
  • 052550950X
  • 9780525509509
  • 876,588

Review quote

"Elizabeth Berg is a master storyteller and one of my personal favorites. Night of Miracles is full of charming, entertaining characters that tug at the heart."--Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"The thing about an Elizabeth Berg novel is, it'll always make you feel hopeful. True to form, Night of Miracles is wise and funny, not shying away from life's troubles but spotlighting the shining small miracles and pleasures of ordinary days. And, of course, there are delicious cakes."--Jenna Blum, New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Save Us Praise for Elizabeth Berg's The Story of Arthur Truluv

"Elizabeth Berg's characters jump right off the page and into your heart. I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human."--Fannie Flagg, author of The Whole Town's Talking

"I don't know if I've ever read a more affecting book about the natural affinity between the young and the elderly than Elizabeth Berg's The Story of Arthur Truluv. It makes the rest of us--strivers and preeners and malcontents--seem almost irrelevant."--Richard Russo, author of Everybody's Fool "Elizabeth Berg reminds us of both the richness of any human life and the heart's needed resilience."--Jane Hirshfield, author of The Beauty: Poems "Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or Berg's previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers' heartstrings."--Booklist
show more

About Elizabeth Berg

Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including The Story of Arthur Truluv, Open House (an Oprah's Book Club selection), Talk Before Sleep, and The Year of Pleasures, as well as the short story collection The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted. Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year. She adapted The Pull of the Moon into a play that enjoyed sold-out performances in Chicago and Indianapolis. Berg's work has been published in thirty countries, and three of her novels have been turned into television movies. She is the founder of Writing Matters, a quality reading series dedicated to serving author, audience, and community. She teaches one-day writing workshops and is a popular speaker at venues around the country. Some of her most popular Facebook postings have been collected in Make Someone Happy and Still Happy. She lives outside Chicago.
show more

Rating details

348 ratings
4.21 out of 5 stars
5 43% (149)
4 39% (137)
3 14% (50)
2 3% (11)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X