The Night of the Living Dead: A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery

The Night of the Living Dead: A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery

3.83 (4,129 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Home repair meets haunted happenings in the first charming, hilarious Haunted Guest House Mystery! Newly divorced Alison Kerby wants a second chance for herself and her nine-year-old daughter, so she's returned to her home town on the Jersey Shore to transform a fixer-upper into a charming--and hopefully profitable--guest house. But when a bump on the head leaves her seeing not only stars but spirits, Alison realizes the real challenge she's facing is out of this world.

The two residing ghosts are Maxie Malone, the foul-tempered former owner of the house (who has definite opinions about Alison's design plans), and Paul Harrison, a private eye who'd been working for Maxie--both died in the house on the same night. The official cause of death was suicide, but the ghosts insist they were murdered, and they need Alison to find out who killed them--or the next ghost in the guest house will be Alison herself...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 108 x 172 x 22mm | 160g
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0425235238
  • 9780425235232
  • 84,312

Review quote

Praise for the National Bestselling Haunted Guesthouse Mysteries "Wonderful...a laugh-out-loud, fast-paced and charming tale."--Kate Carlisle, New York Times bestselling author of the Bibliophile Mysteries

"Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sarah Graves will relish this original, laugh-laden paranormal mystery featuring reluctant ghost whisperer Alison Kerby, a Topper for the twenty-first century."--Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through the Evil Days

"A couple of demanding ghosts, a quick-witted heroine, a creaky old house and a delightful cast of characters...What a fun and enjoyable story!"--Leann Sweeney, New York Times bestselling author of the Cats in Trouble Mysteries

"When combined with the author's trademark humor and keen writing, readers will be wishing that the novel and the series never end."--Kings River Life Magazine
show more

About E. J. Copperman

E. J. Copperman is the Barry Award-winning, national bestselling author of the Haunted Guesthouse Mysteries, the Mysterious Detective series, the Agent to the Paws Mysteries, and with Jeff Cohen, the Asperger's Mysteries.
show more

Rating details

4,129 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 27% (1,125)
4 38% (1,570)
3 27% (1,120)
2 6% (240)
1 2% (74)

Our customer reviews

The most exciting stories in the world, are about spiritual encounters and aged houses with secrets for discovery. It isn't an author's responsibility for books to 'be what we expected'. "Night Of The Living Deed" was not but reviews shouldn't be based on that. Here are my two cents on what it IS. :) I'm a 'save the best for last' person and since a full on ghost story has been hard to find since the 1990s, I savoured this modern 'Haunted Guesthouse' series by collecting it and holding it in queue. It isn't spooky like I hoped. Perhaps gothic mysteries achieve it best. I didn't mind that Alison quickly saw and spoke with spectres but there was no intoxicating moment of wonder. The allure of a hidden artifact came late and I definitely didn't anticipate a protagonist full of jokes. But an inaugural novel is always about getting used to a new character. I have to say: the humour is unexpectedly hilarious and remarkably well executed. I was frequently winded by hearty giggling. If not the mystical environment I wanted, realistic dialogue and jarring wit are complimented with exceptional writing. There are numerous side remarks but no literary fillers. Everything 'Alison' does ties into multiple plots and they are very well devised. Not being a parent, I was unsure I'd invest in a Mom with a grade-schooler but quickly liked her and Melissa. Grandma grows interesting too and develops beyond a cliché parental figure that calls by phone. The proof of an excellent book is in the interest level of the pudding. You want everyone to succeed and you're absorbed enough in the storylines to follow along quickly. It is one hour after closing the final page and I'm already convinced I'm going to devour everything E.J Copperman releases.show more
by C. Riedel
Night of the Living Deed is the first in a new series by E.J. Copperman. E.J. is a "close and personal" friend. He is an accomplished author with 3 other books to his credit. The mystery is well thought out and the ghosts only add a touch of spice to the story.show more
by Nora-Adrienne Deret
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X