Night Film

Night Film

3.77 (69,255 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$28.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"NEW YORK TIMES" BESTSELLER
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR - "Cosmopolitan - Kirkus Reviews - BookPage"
A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, "Night Film "tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy--the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova--a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years.
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world.
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
"Night Film, " the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.
Praise for "Night Film"
" "
""Night Film" has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl's deft touch with character."--Joe Hill, "The New York Times Book Review"
" "
"Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination."--Dean Baquet, "The New York Times Book Review"
" "
"Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, "Night Film" is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You'll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on."--"The Washington Post"
" "
"Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner."--"USA Today"
"Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new."--"The Boston Globe "
" "
"Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense."--"Entertainment Weekly"
" "
"A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that's equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there's some secret detail that will snap everything into focus."--"New York"
" "
"Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl's own "Night Film "as well."--"Vanity Fair"
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 624 pages
  • 163 x 234 x 35mm | 962g
  • United States
  • English
  • New ed.
  • B/W ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT
  • 140006788X
  • 9781400067886
  • 225,159

Review quote

Advance praise for "Night Film"

"Beautifully imagined, beautifully written, and hypnotically suspenseful."--Lee Child, author of "A Wanted Man"

"A testament to Marisha Pessl's tremendous gifts as a storyteller."--Scott Smith, author of "The Ruins"

"This summer's "Gone Girl" a completely absorbing literary thriller."--"Library Journal"
" "
"Get ready to talk about this book."--"Entertainment Weekly"
" "
"A literary mystery that's also a page-turner . . . "Night Film" might be the most talked-about novel this summer."--"Time Out New York"
" "
"An inventive--if brooding, strange and creepy--adventure in literary terror. Think Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King meet Guillermo del Toro as channeled by Klaus Kinski."--"Kirkus Reviews"
" "
"Expands from a seemingly straightforward mystery into a multifaceted, densely byzantine exploration of much larger issues . . . Into this mazelike world of dead ends and false leads, McGrath ventures with his two, much younger helpers, Nora and Hopper, brilliantly portrayed Holmesian 'irregulars' who may finally understand more about Ashley than their mentor, whose linear approach to fact finding might miss the point entirely."--"Booklist "(starred review)

Praise for "Special Topics in Calamity Physics"

"A whirling, glittering, multifaceted marvel . . . an irrepressibly smart and flamboyant new voice."--"The New York Times"

"Pessl's talent for verbal acrobatics keeps the pages flipping."--"USA Today"

"[A] blockbuster debut."--"People" (Critic's Choice)
show more

About Marisha Pessl

Marisha Pessl's bestselling debut novel, "Special Topics in Calamity Physics, " won the John Sargent Sr. First Novel Prize (now the Center for Fiction's Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize), and was selected as one of the 10 Best Books of the Year by "The New York Times Book Review." Pessl grew up in Asheville, North Carolina, and currently resides in New York City.
show more

Rating details

69,255 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 28% (19,657)
4 37% (25,291)
3 23% (16,096)
2 8% (5,823)
1 3% (2,388)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X