A Nice Cup of Tea

A Nice Cup of Tea

3.61 (252 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Anything written by Celia Imrie is guaranteed to put a smile on your face' Good Housekeeping

The beautiful town of Bellevue-sur-Mer, tucked between glitzy Monte Carlo and the plush red carpets of Cannes, is home to Theresa, Carol, William, Benjamin and Sally: five retired expats who have pooled their resources to set up La Mosaique, a divine little restaurant.

But there is trouble in paradise: the friends are desperately struggling to make ends meet, and when the much hoped for sale of their Picasso mosaic falls through they realise it will take every bit of their talent and gumption to save La Mosaique...

The witty and enchanting third novel from the well-loved actress and Sunday Times -bestselling author of Not Quite Nice and Nice Work (If You Can Get It), perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Fern Britton

Praise for the Nice series...
'Her work has definite joie de vivre' Wendy Holden, Daily Mail
'Hugely enjoyable' Katie Fforde
'Utterly delicious' Joanna Lumley
'Warm, light-hearted, fast-paced' Joanne Harris
'Hugely entertaining' Julian Fellowes
'Such a charming romp' Fern Britton
'A shaft of early summer sunshine' Daily Mail
'A delicious piece of entertainment' The Times
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 27mm | 276g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1408883198
  • 9781408883198
  • 3,616

Review Text

A fun read ... There's a deranged energy that sweeps you along Daily Mail
show more

Review quote

A fun read ... There's a deranged energy that sweeps you along * Daily Mail * Breezy, lightly comic ... peppered with delicious recipes * Radio Times * Well-loved TV and movie actress Celia's third novel, following the fortunes of five expats in the South of France who open a restaurant together * Love It! * Praise for the Nice series: 'Fun ... Her work has definite joie de vivre and a sunny, good-natured feel -- Wendy Holden * Daily Mail * A hugely enjoyable romp of a novel with eccentric characters, a delightful background and a savoury tang of crime -- Katie Fforde With its lively plot and eccentric characters, this is a light-hearted, fun read * Daily Express * A very witty novel by a very witty woman. Hugely entertaining -- Julian Fellowes A warm, light-hearted, fast-paced tale that fans of Peter Mayle will enjoy -- Joanne Harris Utterly delicious in every way -- Joanna Lumley A delicious piece of entertainment ... The characters are a hoot and their antics are hilarious; even better, Theresa is a fabulous cook and Imrie includes the recipes of her signature dishes * The Times * Wonderful and very amusing -- Helen Lederer * Good Housekeeping * Sunny and funny ... A keenly observed, rollicking tale of mature expats reinventing themselves on the French Riviera * Mail on Sunday * In a delicious touch, the action is punctuated with recipes for the local dishes that are cooked by the characters so that readers can, if they wish, cook along with the action * Daily Telegraph * It's lots of fun, with adventure at a certain age as its driving force, and sun-kissed recipes * Sainsbury's Magazine * A comic caper set among the tangled lives of a group of expats in a southern French village * Observer * Celia Imrie reveals herself to be a gifted novelist ... Witty and engaging * Choice * A pacy, light-hearted romp around the Riviera ... Imrie is on a roll with her Nice stories: they're sharp, witty, with a nice plot twist and, like her recipes, leave you with an appetite for more * Scotland on Sunday * Peppered with local dishes, the novels are as light and frothy as the iles flottantes with creme anglaise * Guardian *
show more

About Celia Imrie

Celia Imrie is an Olivier Award-winning and Screen Actors Guild-nominated actress. She is known for her film roles in The Best and The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotels, Calendar Girls, Nanny McPhee, Bridget Jones, Absolutely Fabulous, Year by the Sea, A Cure for Wellness, Finding Your Feet and Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again. She plays Phil in FX's comedy Better Things and has recently starred on stage in King Lear at the Old Vic and Party Time and Celebration in the Pinter Theatre Season. Celia Imrie is also the author of her autobiography, The Happy Hoofer, and three novels: the top ten Sunday Times bestselling novels, Not Quite Nice and Nice Work (If You Can Get It), and Sail Away.
www.celiaimrie.info @CeliaImrie
show more

Rating details

252 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 24% (60)
4 32% (81)
3 29% (74)
2 11% (27)
1 4% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X