The New Grove Stravinsky

The New Grove Stravinsky

5 (3 ratings by Goodreads)
Edited by  , Edited by  , Edited by 

List price: US$12.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Of Russian, French, and later American nationality, Stravinsky's musical styles are startlingly diverse, reflecting his life and era; from Tsarist Russia, to 1920s France and post-war USA. His early years in Russia saw him launch his international career, with Dyagilve's Ballets Russes in Paris and the premieres of The Firebird, Petrushka and The Rite of Spring. Between 1920-1939 Stravinsky lived and worked in France, producing his great neo-classical compositions, reactivating the modes and manners of the eighteenth century. This stylistic inclination eventually gave way to a highly individual use of serial techniques in his last years, when he took up residence in the United States. This biography of Igor Stravinsky is one in a new series of composer biographies, derived and adapted from the second edition of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. These newly written biographies bring the best of the book-length pieces in The New Grove to a wider audience. Each title provides fresh new insights into the life and works of a major composer, derived from the most recent scholarship.In addition to a detailed and informative view of the subject's life and works, written by an expert in the field, each book includes comprehensive, tabular work-lists and a fully revised and updated more

Product details

  • Paperback | 112 pages
  • 168.7 x 231.6 x 8.1mm | 181.44g
  • Oxford University Press Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 8pp halftone plates
  • 0195169069
  • 9780195169065

About Stephen Walsh

Stephen Walsh is senior lecturer in music at Cardiff University. He has a particular interest in 20th century music and has written in Tempo, Musical Times, Music and Musicians--notably on British composers and Hungarian music. His writings include The Lieder of Schumann (1971), Bartok Chamber Music (1975) and Stravinsky: A Creative Spring (1999).show more

Rating details

3 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (3)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X