Neversink
15%
off

Neversink

3.79 (317 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Barry Wolverton's masterful middle-grade debut, Neversink, is an epic tale of some very un-epic birds, a fast-paced and funny story of survival, friendship, and fish, in the vein of Watership Down and Kathi Appelt's The Underneath. Along the Arctic Circle lies a small island called Neversink, home to a colony of odd-looking seabirds called auks, including one Lockley J. Puffin. With their oceanfront views and plentiful supply of fish, the auks have few concerns--few, save for Lockley's two best friends, Egbert and Ruby, a know-it-all walrus and a sharp-tongued hummingbird. But all of this is about to change. Rozbell, the newly crowned king of the Owl Parliament, has long had his scheming eyes on the small colony to the north. Now Neversink's independence hangs in the balance. An insurgence of owls will inevitably destroy life as the auks know it--unless Lockley can do something about it.show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 287 pages
  • 129.54 x 193.04 x 17.78mm | 204.12g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 006202793X
  • 9780062027931
  • 649,416

Back cover copy

Along the Arctic circle lies a small island called Neversink, home to a colony of odd-looking sea birds called auks, including one Lockley J. Puffin. With their oceanfront views and plentiful supply of fish, the auks have few concerns--few, save for Lockley's two best friends, Egbert and Ruby, a know-it-all walrus and a sharp-tongued hummingbird. But all of this is about to change. There is a famine on the mainland of Tytonia, and the king of the Owl Parliament has long had his scheming eyes on the small colony to the north. An insurgence of owls will inevitably destroy life as the auks know it--unless Lockley can do something about it.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X