Network Governance and the Differentiated Polity

Network Governance and the Differentiated Polity : Selected Essays, Volume I

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-20 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


Network Governance and the Differentiated Polity is the first of two volumes featuring a selection of key writings by R. A. W. Rhodes. Volume I collects in one place for the first time the main articles written by Rhodes on policy networks and governance between 1990 and 2005. The introductory section provides a short biography of the author's journey, Part I focuses on policy networks, and Part II focuses on governance. The conclusion provides critical
commentary, both replying to critics and reflecting on theoretical developments since publication. The volume complements the author's other publications on networks and governance, and many chapters in the volume feature an afterword setting out the context in which it was written and identifying what has
changed empirically.

Volume II looks forward and explores the 'interpretive turn' and its implications for the craft of political science, especially public administration.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 161 x 241 x 23mm | 607g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0198786107
  • 9780198786108

Table of contents

show more

About R. A. W. Rhodes

Rod Rhodes is Professor of Government (Research) at the University of Southampton. He is life Vice-President of the Political Studies Association of the United Kingdom; a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia; and a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences (UK). In 2012, he was awarded International Research Association for Public Management and Routledge Prize for Outstanding Contribution to Public Management Research. In 2014, he was awarded the
Special Recognition Award by the Political Studies Association of the United Kingdom for his outstanding contribution to political science. In 2015, he was awarded the biennial ECPR's (European Consortium for Political Research) Lifetime Achievement Award.
show more