Natural Law

Natural Law : The Foundation of an Orderly Economic System

3.57 (7 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This innovative book illustrates the value of appeals to a governing, natural law and attendant principles such as the common good, subsidiarity, hierarchy, spiritual welfare, the reciprocity of freedom and authority, and the cultivation of personal moral and intellectual virtue. Natural Law will appeal to scholars, professionals, and others interested in the cultivation of personal moral and intellectual virtue.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 147.3 x 221 x 15.2mm | 136.08g
  • Lexington Books
  • Lanham, MD, United States
  • English
  • New.
  • 0739109499
  • 9780739109496
  • 1,698,352

About Alberto M. Piedra

Alberto M. Piedra is Professor of Political Economy at The Institute of World Politics.show more

Review quote

Piedra's book is an impressive application of natural law thinking to areas not usually explored by political philosophy such as economic theory, demographics, and globalization. The strong emphasis upon philosophical anthropology and ethics provides the reader with perspective on key issues and theories in economics. The critique of Keynesian economics is particularly illuminating. -- John Hittinger, U.S. Air Force Academy Joseph Schumpeter and Nobel laureate F. A. Hayek correctly pointed out that the tradition of natural law, as presented by the great Late Scholastic authors, gave rise to the development of economic science. By expanding on the richness of the natural law tradition, this book gives new inspiration for an economic system based on sound economics and the dignity of the human person. -- Alejandro A. Chafuen, author of Faith and Liberty Piedra writes in the tradition of Thomas Aquinas, Jacques Maritain, and other Catholic natural law theorists. Libraries serving this audience will want to acquire this book. Recommended. CHOICE Alberto Piedra deftly shows why a few old truths can solve many modern problems. His argument for natural law is not a plea for a return to the past, but a demonstration of something that we need if we want a prosperous and authentically humane future. -- Robert Royal, Ethics and Public Policy Centershow more

Table of contents

1 Chapter I: Natural Law and the Age of Reason 2 Chapter II: Human Nature and the Dignity of the Human Person 3 Chapter III: The Classical School and the Birth of Capitalism 4 Chapter IV: The Romantic and Socialist Reactions to the Industrial Revolution 5 Chapter V: Neoclassicism, the Keynesian Revolution and Other Sources of Dissent 6 Chapter VI: The Metaphysical Dimensions of Man: Their Ethical Implications 7 Chapter VII: The Fundamental Issue of Human Work 8 Chapter VIII: Population, the Welfare State, and the Challenge of the Environment 9 Chapter IX: The Challenge of Globalization 10 Epilogueshow more

Rating details

7 ratings
3.57 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 71% (5)
3 14% (1)
2 14% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X