Nanocomposite Science and Technology

Nanocomposite Science and Technology

  • Other digital
By (author)  , By (author)  , By (author) 

List price: US$264.50

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Contains the underlying science as well as the motivation behind the design of these structures and the future, particularly from the perspective of more

Product details

  • Other digital
  • 1 x 1mm
  • Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH
  • Weinheim, Germany
  • 3527602127
  • 9783527602124

Review quote

"...captures the essence of this emerging technology. It examines the underlying science and motivation behind the design of these structures, and looks into the future, particularly from the perspective of applications." (PROCESS worldwide) "...a valuable up-tp-date reference excellent book...which gives the essence of this emerging material science field..." (Polymer News) "...will repay the thoughtful reader and is to be recommended as a guide to this exciting field..." (Materials World, Vol 12(2), Feb 2004) "...Nanocomposite Science and Technology is an excellent book that provides systematic coverage of all basic nanocomposite principles and in-depth discussions on selected topics." (Polymer News, 2004 Vol. 29)show more

Table of contents

INTRODUCTION: WHY NANOCOMPOSITES? BIO-NANOCOMPOSITES: NANOCOMPOSITES FROM AND INSPIRED BY NATURE Synthesis Processing Characterization Applications POLYMER BASED AND POLYMER FILLED NANOCOMPOSITES Synthesis Processing Characterization Applications BULK METAL AND CERAMICS NANOCOMPOSITES Synthesis Processing Characterization Applications ACTIVE STRUCTURES Chemically Active Structures Biologically Active Structures MODELING OF NANOSCALE COMPOSITE SYSTEMSshow more

About Pulickel M. Ajayan

Pulickel M. Ajayan is Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He received his Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from Northwestern University in 1989. After Three years of industrial research experience (NEC Corporation, Japan), he spent two years as a research scientist at the CNRS laboratoire de Physique des Solides, Orsay in France and about a year and a half as an Alexander von Humboldt fellow at the Max-Planck-Institut fur Metallforschung, Stuttgate in Germany. Professor Ajayan's research interests are mainly focused on the synthesis and characterization of one-dimensional nonostructures with special emphasis on carbon nano-tubes. He is a pioneer in the area of nanotubes and has published some of the key papers in the field with more than 3000 citations for his work in this area. Linda S. Schadler is Associate Professor at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. She graduated from Cornell University in 1985 with a B.S. in materials science and engineering and received a PhD in materials science and engineering in 1990 from the University of Pennsylvania. After two years of post-doctoral work at IBM Yorktown Heights, Schadler served as a faculty member at Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA before coming to Rensselaer. Professor Schadler is a current member of the National Materials Advisory Board. She serves on numerous professional committees and as education and outreach coordinator for the Center "Directed Assembly of Nanostructures". Dr. Schadler received a National Science Foundation National Young Investigator award in 1994 and the ASM International Bradley Staughton Award for Teaching in 1997. She received a Dow Outstanding New Faculty member award from the American Society of Engineering Education in 1998. Paul V. Braun received his BS degree, with distinction, from Cornell University, and his PhD in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1998. Following a one year post-doctoral appointment at Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, he joined the faculty at the University of Illinois at U-C in 1999 as an assistant professor of materials Science and Engineering. He is the recipient of a 2001 Beckman Young Investigator Award, a 3M Nontenured Faculty Award, the 2002 Robert Lansing Hardy Award from TMS, and a Willett Faculty Scholar Award from the University of Illinois at U-C College of more