The Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself

The Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself

3.7 (1,122 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Cover design or artwork by 

List price: US$9.69

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

First in an urban fantasy trilogy set in London

"For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare" - Booktrust. Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in the first in an epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. When Mio steals a priceless ancestral sword from her parents' attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the sword is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life ... but the love of a lifetime.
show more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 131 x 200 x 28mm | 297g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1406357952
  • 9781406357950
  • 450,986

Review quote

Fantasy writer Zoe Marriot explode back onto the scene * Times * It's been a long time since I enjoyed a book this much * The Mountains of Instead * A cracking start to The Name of the Blade trilogy, roll on number 2! * Books4Teens * If you like your trilogies fast and furious, then this is definitely for you * Serendipity Reviews * Clever and cool all at once * Sister Spooky * I just want more of everything * Fluttering Butterflies * I cannot rave about The Night Itself enough * Readaraptor * I just fell for it, hook line and sinker * The Pewter Wolf * My only disappointment is that I've got to wait another year for the next instalment * Feeling Fictional * I can already tell that it will become one of my favourite series, like, ever * Cic Loves Books * I am so looking forward to reading more in this series! I just want more of everything. * Fluttering Butterflies * If you want a book that you can relate to but with a different and fresh perspective that go read this book * Teacher Moloney King * This book is definitely right up there with some of my favourites. * Juniper's Jungle * There was nothing in it I would change, which is wonderful and scary because how is the next book going to live up to that? * Luna's Little Library * I adored The Night Itself * Big Book Little Book * Cool, fast-paced and fun. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * A rising star of fantasy fiction. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * [A] readable and engaging story. . . for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare * Booktrust * Marriott has a high level if literary intelligence and is terrific at rebooting fairy-tales with wonderful descriptions of the natural world. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * YA urban fantasy, with as much glittery glamour as action... the use of Japanese legends coming to life in modern London to create the supernatural elements enlivens the plot. * The School Librarian * Fantasy aspects are skilfully woven into a credible urban setting and the romantic element of the novel is mostly subtle but can be quiveringly intense when it needs to be. * Inis * Lived up to every expectation I had. It was gripping, fast paced and had so many twists in it, I never felt bored when reading this * The Pewter Wolf *
show more

About Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott is the author of six critically acclaimed and beloved books, including The Swan Kingdom, which was long-listed for the Branford Boase award, and Shadows on the Moon, which won the prestigious Sasakawa Prize and was an American Junior Library Guild Selection. Zoe lives in Grimsby, Lincolnshire. Visit Zoe's blog at thezoe-trope.blogspot.co.uk or her website at ZoeMarriott.com. Follow her on Twitter (@ZMarriott).
show more

Rating details

1,122 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 27% (302)
4 33% (375)
3 28% (310)
2 7% (83)
1 5% (52)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X