My Wish List
33%
off

My Wish List

3.57 (7,109 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The #1 bestselling international phenomenon that asks, If you won the lottery, would you trade your life for the life of your dreams? Jocelyne lives in a small town in France where she runs a fabric shop, has been married to the same man for twenty-one years, and has raised two children. She is beginning to wonder what happened to all those dreams she had when she was seventeen. Could her life have been different? Then she wins the lottery--and suddenly finds the world at her fingertips. But she chooses not to tell anyone, not even her husband--not just yet. Without cashing the check, she begins to make a list of all the things she could do with the money. But does Jocelyne really want her life to change?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 165 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 14mm | 120g
  • United States
  • English
  • Translation
  • 014312465X
  • 9780143124658
  • 347,262

Review quote

"Delacourt's appealing novel (a huge best seller in his native France) [is a] dark, suspenseful fable." --The New York Times "Fans of Chocolat and The Elegance of the Hedgehog will adore My Wish List, an emotionally wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of ambition, risk, and acceptance. . . . Jocelyne is an immensely likable narrator, and Delacourt's fluid, elegant prose brings layers of depth to a relatively simple story." --Booklist, starred review "Revelatory . . . with an unexpected twist that speaks volumes about the nature of truth, love and happiness." --Shelf Awareness, starred review "This dastardly little novel focuses on love, desire and what we stand to lose when we win. . . . [A book] the late novelist Josephine Hart might have written." --Kirkus Reviews "What is happiness, what can money buy, what happens to love? . . . [My Wish List] will attract . . . those who enjoyed Muriel Barbery's The Elegance of the Hedgehog. . . . A sparse, understated, philosophical [novel with] appeal to male as well as female readers, and for literary fiction fans and book clubs." --Library Journal "[A] fable about how money changes everything, and nothing . . . The aching need for comfort, safety and love that it describes is universal." --Publishers Weekly
show more

About Gregoire Delacourt

Grégoire Delacourt was born in Valenciennes, France, in 1960. His first novel, L'Ecrivain de la Famille, was published in 2011 and won five literary prizes. My Wish List was a runaway number-one bestseller in France; publication rights have been sold in more than twenty-five countries. Delacourt lives in Paris, where he runs an advertising agency with his wife.
show more

Rating details

7,109 ratings
3.57 out of 5 stars
5 17% (1,200)
4 39% (2,749)
3 32% (2,264)
2 10% (697)
1 3% (199)

Our customer reviews

This interesting little book asks that perennial question: what would you change if you won the lottery? Jocelyne Guebette faces just this dilemma when she wins over 18m Euros after she is talked into buying her first ever ticket in a lottery. What should she do with all that money? She has been married for 22y and although her marriage has had some problems she and her husband get on well now. He has a good job and she has her own fabric and haberdashery shop and a successful blog encouraging women to knit and sew. Her life is not perfect but she has trouble imagining what she could do with all that money. Her wish list of what she could buy to make her life better is full of trivial items. She has two grown up children, a son who is estranged after dropping out of University and a daughter living in London who makes strange little films. Should she help them out with some money? What about her husband who desperately desires a flat screen TV, a complete set of James Bond movies and a Porsche? She also wants to do something to help her two best friends, unmarried twins in their late thirties who will never marry because they can't bear to be separated. While she is procrastinating on what to do with her huge windfall, the story takes a surprising turn and Jocelyn is forced to decide what she really wants to do with the rest of her life.show more
by Carolyn Scott
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X